soompi forums: Purchasing DSLR online - soompi forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1

Purchasing DSLR online

#1 User is offline   .minjoo 

  • You. Yes, you.
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,513
  • Joined: 24-April 06

Posted 29 September 2009 - 02:16 AM

I'm currently in Japan at the moment and will be here for the next three months... and I'm planning to buy a DSLR. Thing is, DSLRs here are of course in Japanese, so I won't be able to fully maximize the use of a Japanese DSLR since I fail at Japanese .___.

So, I was just thinking of purchasing a DSLR online.

I'm just wondering whether it's advisable to buy from sites like Amazon.com or Plemix.com? I know, Amazon.com is very reputable so I guess I'm leaning more unto buying from this site... but, Plemix.com has some really good deals... so yeah, any advice?
0

#2 User is offline   carrotcake 

  • Cake cake cake cake carrot!
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,331
  • Joined: 12-August 06

Posted 29 September 2009 - 09:32 PM

My friend, a fellow soompier, recommended these sites to buy cameras at. I don't know if they ship internationally though.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/
http://www.adorama.com/
0

#3 User is offline   .minjoo 

  • You. Yes, you.
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,513
  • Joined: 24-April 06

Posted 30 September 2009 - 01:59 AM

^ Thanks for the tips! I really appreciate it. biggrin.gif
0

#4 User is offline   [HyuNi] 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,660
  • Joined: 05-October 05

Posted 30 September 2009 - 08:24 AM

Yep, amazon, B&H, and adorama or the most reputable sites online to purchase camera equipment.
I only purchase my equipment from those sites and wouldn't touch other sites with a 10' pole.

Generally, if the price looks too good to be true, it's probably a scam.
5D MarkII juliet II
EF 35 ƒ1.4L | EF 135 ƒ2.0L | EF 70-200 ƒ4.0L | 580EXII | YN460 | flick'd
0

#5 User is offline   DarkWaltz 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 967
  • Joined: 24-October 05

Posted 02 October 2009 - 05:54 AM

QUOTE ([HyuNi] @ Sep 30 2009, 11:24 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Yep, amazon, B&H, and adorama or the most reputable sites online to purchase camera equipment.
I only purchase my equipment from those sites and wouldn't touch other sites with a 10' pole.

Generally, if the price looks too good to be true, it's probably a scam.


+1.

Avoid fishy sites who have really really low prices. I purchased camera gear online from Amazon and B&H and it was fast, good service, etc. Very reliable.
0

#6 User is offline   .minjoo 

  • You. Yes, you.
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,513
  • Joined: 24-April 06

Posted 05 October 2009 - 03:21 AM

Thanks for the suggestions! Ended up buying in Adorama.com because the DSLRs in Amazon and B&H can't get shipped to Japan due to manufacturer issues.

I just received my Nikon D5000 kit from the mail today! I'm ecstatic!
0

#7 User is offline   xdaisiesx3 

  • always keep the faith ★
  • Icon
  • Group: Friends of Soompi
  • Posts: 1,802
  • Joined: 05-June 06

Posted 06 October 2009 - 03:13 PM

^ Adorama is amazing! I hope you like your new DSLR! (I'm secretly sad because I wanted to get the 5000 too.)

Flickr // BoA*TVXQ!Girls'Generation2PM; ♥
0

#8 User is offline   calv1124 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 518
  • Joined: 14-February 09

Posted 11 October 2009 - 03:11 PM

Congrats on your D5000! (I have one too =])

You can change the language on the camera, and request english user manuals for all nikon cameras. Couldn't you have saved more money by buying in Japan?

In any case, you bought a great camera =], you could probably get some lenses pretty cheap over there xD
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users