Cast of “Please Come Back Mister” Dispute Over Billing Order

2016-02-02 21:22:52 2016-02-02 21:22:52

Actors and their respective companies are in a heated argument over the order of their names.

The cast of the upcoming SBS drama “Please, Come Back Mister” is currently embroiled in a frustrating controversy. Several actors had argued about the order in which their names would be published in an outgoing press release and ultimately, it was decided to be done by the order of age. Originally, the cast was billed as Rain, Kim Soo Ro, Lee Min Jung, Honey Lee, and Choi Won Young. However, after an internal meeting, this has now been changed. The cast is now listed with the oldest actor Park In Hwan at the front. Following him are Kim Soo Ro, Choi Won Young, Kim In Kwon, Rain, Lee Min Jung, Honey Lee, Oh Yeon Seo, Yoon Park, and Lee Tae Hwan. Child actor Lee Rae is listed last.

A representative of “Please, Come Back Mister” stated that “While we have decided to list the actors by age in the press release, it has not yet been decided how it will be shown in the drama. We will follow whatever is decided later.” There are many places in which the drama’s name will be published, ranging from simple press releases to large banners. This has left the writers of the show scratching their heads in frustration over this concern.

Part of the blame can be placed on the character roles in the drama. “Please, Come Back Mister” casted multiple actors without a single main lead. With the exception of the character played by Rain, the characters are flexible without a clear main lead. Therefore it is difficult to determine how to place the order of the actors.

One representative of a management company noted, “While I can’t say anything to the ultimate decision to place actors by age order, by making it so that the viewers do not know who the important main leads are, it could prevent the viewers from becoming interested in the drama because they’re not sure who the protagonists are. A frustrating situation has been created due to a few actors.”

This is not the first time that such a controversy over name order has occurred. In the past, a drama was ultimately released to the press without any names at all due to the two male and female leads arguing over the order of how their names should be released. On the other hand, in the previous KBS 2TV drama “Producer,” it was decided to have the names by the order of their debut year, Cha Tae Hyun, Gong Hyo Jin, Kim Soo Hyun, and IU were listed accordingly.

A representative from SBS remarked, “Seeing as to how such controversies occur frequently over the order of the names, I can see just how sensitive and important this issue must be for actors.”

Source (1)