WINNER’s Kang Seung Yoon And Song Mino And More Promoted To Full Members Of Korea Music Copyright Association

On January 27, The Korea Music Copyright Association (KOMCA) announced the songwriters that have been promoted to full members this year!

KOMCA is a non-profit copyright collective with the aim of improving music culture in Korea through protecting the intellectual property rights of copyright holders while ensuring ease of use for listeners. Founded in 1964, the organization maintains a database of copyrighted works and their intellectual property holders.

Any copyright holder is able to join KOMCA as a “junior member,” but the board of directors chooses just 25 junior members each year to promote to the status of “full members.” 22 members are chosen from the mainstream category, while the remaining three are chosen from the non-mainstream category.

The requirements for the promotion to full member status include maintaining junior KOMCA membership for three years or more, receiving a certain amount in royalties from their copyrighted property each year, and also being selected by the board of directors. Becoming a full member of KOMCA gives an artist the right to vote at the organization’s general meetings.

This year, WINNER’s Kang Seung Yoon and Song Mino, Sunwoo JungA, Changmo, Loco, Roy Kim, Maktub, and more were promoted to full members of KOMCA.

Go Hyung Suk, who created Baek Yerin’s “Maybe It’s Not Our Fault” and wrote songs for CHEEZE and Car, the Garden, Kim Hyun Woo, who composed and wrote Paul Kim’s “Every Day, Every Moment,” Lee Joon Ho, who composed Yoon Jong Shin‘s “Like it,” and Jung Je Il, a famous music producer who composed and arranged numerous hit songs including Park Hyo Shin’s “Wild Flower,” were also included in the list.

Last year, artists who became full members of KOMCA included BTS‘s RM and J-Hope, Paul Kim, Jay Park, Giriboy, and more.

Congratulations to the songwriters!

Watch Kang Seung Yoon in “Kairos” below:

Watch Now

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?