2017 Melon Music Awards Announces Nominees For Top 10 Artists + Voting Begins

The first round of voting has begun for the 2017 Melon Music Awards!

On October 26, the 40 nominees were announced for the Top 10. These nominees were chosen based on the number of downloads, number of streams, and the results from Melon’s Weekly Popularity Award, which is a vote done on the top 20 tracks each week. Any music released since November 20, 2016 was eligible.

The 40 nominees are as follows:

Ailee, Akdong Musician, Apink, BIGBANG, BLACKPINK, Bolbbalgan4, BTOB, BTS, Chanyeol (EXO), Crush, Ed Sheeran, EXO, G-Dragon (BIGBANG), GFRIEND, Hangzoo, Heize, Highlight, Hyuk Oh, Hwang Chi Yeol, IU, Jung Seung Hwan, Mad Clown, MAMAMOO, Nucksal, Punch, PSY, Red Velvet, SECHSKIES, SEVENTEEN, Soyou, Suran, Taeyeon (Girls’ Generation), 20 Years of Age, TWICE, Wanna One, WINNER, Woo Won Jae, Yoon Jong Shin, Zico (Block B), Zion.T

The Top 10 will be selected 80 percent based on digitals and 20 percent based on votes. Voting for the Top 10 runs from October 26 through November 12 through the Melon mobile application and website.

Category voting will run from November 13 through December 1. The categories that will be open for voting are the Best Artist Award, Best Album Award, Best Song Award, Best New Artist Award, Netizen Popularity Award, Hot Trend Award, Best Ballad Award, Best Dance Track Award, Best Rap/Hip Hop Award, Best R&B/Soul Award, Best Indie Award, Best Rock Award, Best Trot Award, Best Folk/Blues Award, Best Pop Award, and Best OST Award.

The Melon Music Awards will be held on December 2 at Gocheok Sky Dome.

Source (1)