Winners Of The 38th Blue Dragon Film Awards

On November 25, the 38th Blue Dragon Film Awards were held at the Kyung Hee University Grand Peace Palace to honor some of the best films and filmmakers of 2017.

The ceremony, which was emceed by Kim Hye Soo and Lee Sun Gyun, got off to an unfortunate start when photographers decided to boycott the red carpet. Because of the heavy rain, reporters had asked permission to take photos inside instead of the usual outdoors red carpet but were denied.

See Also: Cha Tae Hyun Gives Speech At Blue Dragon Film Awards In Honor Of Actors Who Passed Away This Year

Some notable winners included EXO’s D.O. for Best New Actor. He was unable to accept the award in person due to his concert but his former co-star and close friend Jo In Sung accepted it in his place. Jo In Sung himself took home a Popular Star Award for his role in “The King.” Later D.O. arrived at the ceremony just in time to present the Best Film award with Shin Ha Kyun and gave thanks for his own award.

Big winners of the night included “I Can Speak,” which picked up both a Popular Star Award and Best Leading Actress award for veteran actress Na Moon Hee as well as the Best Director Award, which was presented by American actor Steven Yeun. “A Taxi Driver” was also well-beloved at the awards, winning Best Film, Audience Choice Award, Best Music, and Best Leading Actor for Song Kang Ho.

See the full list of winners below:

Best Film – “A Taxi Driver”

Best Director – Kim Hyun Suk (“I Can Speak”)

Best Leading Actor – Song Kang Ho (“A Taxi Driver”)

Best Leading Actress – Na Moon Hee (“I Can Speak”)

Best Supporting Actor – Jin Seon Kyu (“The Outlaws”)

Best Supporting Actress – Kim So Jin (“The King”)

Best New Director – Lee Hyun Joo (“Our Love Story”)

Best New Actor – Do Kyung Soo (EXO’s D.O.) (“My Annoying Brother”)

Best New Actress – Choi Hee Seo (“Anarchist from Colony“)

Best Screenplay – Hwang Dong Hyuk (“The Fortress”)

Best Cinematography and Lighting – Jo Hyung Rae (cinematography), Park Jung Woo (lighting) (both “The Merciless”)

Best Art Direction – Lee Hoo Kyung (“Battleship Island”)

Best Music – Jo Young Wook (“A Taxi Driver”)

Best Editing – Shin Min Kyung (“The King”)

Technical Award (given to achievement in visual effects, costume design, or action/stunt choreography) – Kwon Gwi Duk (stunt director, “The Villainess”)

Best Short Film – Kwak Eun Mi (“Hand-Written Poster”)

Popular Star Award – Na Moon Hee (“I Can Speak”), Sol Kyung Gu (“The Merciless”), Jo In Sung (“The King”), Kim Soo Ahn (“Battleship Island”)

Audience Choice Award for Most Popular Film – “A Taxi Driver”

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?