BTS' Suga, Simon Dominic, Oh Hyuk, And More Chosen To Become Full Members Of Korea Music Copyright Association

Artists including BTS member Suga, AOMG co-CEO Simon Dominic, Oh Hyuk of the band Hyuk Oh, and more have received the honor of being chosen to be full members of the Korea Music Copyright Association (KOMCA).

KOMCA is a non-profit copyright collective with the objective of improving music culture in Korea through protecting the rights of copyright holders and ensuring ease of use for listeners. It is a respected organization that was founded in 1964, and it maintains a database of copyrighted works and their producers.

It recently received attention that earlier this year, KOMCA announced its annual list of new full members. Any copyright holder can join KOMCA as a “junior member,” but the board of directors chooses a list of 25 junior members each year to promote to the status of “full members.”

In order to be promoted to a full member, musicians must have been a junior member of the KOMCA for three years or more, receive a certain amount in royalties each year, and also be selected by the board of directors. Becoming a full member of the KOMCA gives an artist the right to vote at the organization’s general meetings.

The 2018 list of new full members includes Suga, Simon Dominic, Oh Hyuk, Illionaire Records co-founder and rapper The Quiett, rapper Outsider, the band Vanilla Acoustic’s frontman Vanilla Man, Choi Hyun Joon of R&B group V.O.S and the producing team E.ONE, and more. Suga is the first BTS member to be promoted to a full member of the KOMCA.

Other popular artists who have become full members in recent years include Epik High’s Tablo, IU, BoA, Tiger JK, Lim Chang Jung, Park Hyo Shin, and more.

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles