EXO's Suho, Park Hyo Shin, Ivy, And More Win At 7th Yegreen Musical Awards

The 7th Yegreen Musical Awards celebrated some of the best of this year’s musicals and performances!

The annual ceremony was held on November 5 at the Chungmu Art Center in Seoul, and was hosted by Min Woo Hyuk and Park Kyung Lim.

The night’s Grand Prize (daesang) went to Seensee Company, while the Musical of the Year Award was given to “The Man Who Laughs.” The production was also recognized with awards for Best Director, Best Actor, Best New Actor, Best Stage Art, and the Popularity Award in both female and male categories.

Singer Park Hyo Shin was given the Best Actor Award for his performance in “The Man Who Laughs,” while singer Ivy took home the Best Actress Award for her work in “Redbook.”

Park Hyo Shin did not attend the award ceremony, but his acceptance speech was read for him. He stated, “I want to first thank my fans. I performed for four months, from the summer until yesterday, but I was so happy during that time and will never forget it. It was an original musical created in Korea and being performed for the first time, so I was nervous and worried, but it has successfully come to an end.”

Ivy said, “I’m not sure if I’m deserving of this award. I still question myself every day, wondering if I’m a good actor. Although I’m embarrassed about saying this, I developed stage fright two years ago and after that I’ve been performing while taking medicine for every performance.” Ivy shared that while she’s been doing her very best in every show, she still doesn’t feel confident about performing, and then shared the honor of the award with her fellow actors, the director, and writer.

EXO’s Suho and Min Kyung Ah, both of “The Man Who Laughs,” received Popularity Awards.

In his acceptance speech, Suho shared that it was an honor to be given the award, and expressed his sincere thanks. “While rehearsing and performing ‘The Last Kiss’ and ‘The Man Who Laughs,’ I was very lonely,” he said. “I sincerely thank all the many people who made me feel that I wasn’t alone during those times. Thank you to the audience who filled up the theater seats, and to EXO-Ls. I’ve really learned a lot while doing musicals.”

When asked what the secret is to his popularity, Suho made everyone laugh by saying it’s that he’s from EXO. He added, “Many audience members and members of the public came, but many EXO-Ls came. Thank you so much.”

Check out the full list below!

Yegreen Grand Prize: Seensee Company

Musical of the Year: “The Man Who Laughs”

Best Actor: Park Hyo Shin (“The Man Who Laughs”)

Best Actress: Ivy (“Redbook”)

Best Supporting Actor: Park Jung Pyo

Best Supporting Actress: Kim Gook Hee (“Redbook”)

Best Ensemble: “Hourglass”

Best Revival: “Pan”

Best Foreign Musical: “Matilda”

Popularity Award: Suho, Min Kyung Ah (“The Man Who Laughs”)

Lifetime Achievement: Yoon Bok Hee

Best Stage Art: Oh Pil Young (“The Man Who Laughs”)

Creative Award in Foreign Musical Category: “Rocky Horror Picture Show”

Best Music: Lee Sun Young (“Redbook”)

Best Script: Han Jung Suk (“Redbook”)

Best Director: Robert Johanson (“The Man Who Laughs”)

Best Choreography: Seo Byung Goo (“Beauty”)

Best New Actor: Park Kang Hyun (“The Man Who Laughs”)

Best New Actress: Shin Bo Ra (“Youth March”)

Congratulations to all the winners!

Source (1) (2) (3)

Top Photo Credit: Xportsnews

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles