Yoo Jae Suk Voted By Koreans As Comedian Of The Year For 7th Year In A Row

Yoo Jae Suk has been voted as 2018’s greatest comedian and variety star!

Gallup Korea ran a poll for three weeks from November 7 to November 30, asking who was the best comedian of the year. 1,700 people who were 13 years old or older from all over South Korea voted in the poll.

This year, Gallup Korea has expanded its field of “comedian” to “comedian and variety star” to reflect current trends that include the reduction of authentic comedy programs and increase of entertainment programs by ordinary people or professionals in other fields.

According to the results, Yoo Jae Suk placed No. 1 by receiving 33.4 percent of the votes. He was voted as the No. 1 comedian on Gallup Korea from 2005 to 2009. In 2010 and 2011, he dropped down to second place. However, he surged back up in 2012 to maintain the No. 1 spot for seven straight years since then.

Park Na Rae was voted in second place with 27.4 percent of the votes. Over the past year, she has been a regular member on MBC’s “I Live Alone,” MBC’s “Video Star,” tvN’s “Salty Tour” and more, while also doing traditional comedy on tvN’s “Comedy Big League.”

Gallup Korea shared, “Park Na Rae is highly preferred by younger women, who make up the main demand for entertainment programs, and especially by women in their 10s and 40s. Her rising popularity is likely to remain strong.”

Third place was taken by none other than Kang Ho Dong with 23.3 percent of the votes. In the past, he was labeled one of the “nation’s MCs” along with Yoo Jae Suk but temporarily retired in 2011. He’s currently popular for his regular programs such as JTBC’s “Ask Us Anything,” JTBC’s “Let’s Eat Dinner Together,” tvN’s “New Journey to the West,” and more.

Lee Young Ja, the rising star of 2018, was spotted at No. 4 with her appearances on MBC’s “Omniscient,” Olive’s “Food Bless You,” and more. She has especially been a hot topic for her comical expressions and delicious eating shows.

The other comedians or variety stars in the top 10 are Shin Dong Yup, Jun Hyun MooYang Se HyungLee Soo GeunLee Kyung Kyu, and Lee Sang Min.

Source (1)

Top Photo Credit: Xportsnews

How does this article make you feel?