Winners Of The 25th Chunsa Film Art Awards

On June 19, the 25th Chunsa Film Art Awards commemorated the best and the brightest of South Korean film this year. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the ceremony was held without an audience and broadcast online.

“The Battle: Roar to Victory” took home trophies for Best Director and the Technical Award, while “The Man Standing Next” won the most acting categories with Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor. “Kim Ji Young, Born 1982” won Best Supporting Actress and Best New Director, while “E.X.I.T” won the Viewers’ Choice Most Popular Film Award and Best Screenplay.

Lee Byung Hun, who won Best Actor, stated, “I have been able to accept a second great honor through ‘The Man Standing Next.’ All of the nominees were brilliant. I gained a lot of influence from my co-stars Lee Sung Min, Kwak Do Won, and Lee Hee Joon. I’ve been acting for a long time, but this project felt new in many ways. I feel sorry that I am accepting this award alone. Thank you.”

Lee Young Ae, who won Best Actress, stated, “I am so happy and grateful. More than the other awards I’ve won until now, this feels more meaningful and nerve-racking. I think I lost a lot of confidence in myself since I hadn’t done movies for so long. Through this award, I have gained courage that I can do movies again. I’ve been praying that I can live a balanced life as a mother, wife, and actor. Through the Chunsa Film Art Awards, I have gained the courage to do so.”

Bong Joon Ho, the director of the Oscar-winning film “Parasite,” won the White Crane Award, an award that was inaugurated at the Chunsa Film Art Awards for the first time this year. As he was not present at the ceremony, director Min Kyu Dong accepted the award in his place. Min Kyu Dong stated that Bong Joon Ho is currently resting to recover his health and working on his next screenplay.

Check out all the winners below!

Best Director: Won Shin Yun (“The Battle: Roar to Victory”)

Best Actor: Lee Byung Hun (“The Man Standing Next”)

Best Actress: Lee Young Ae (“Bring Me Home”)

Best Supporting Actor: Lee Sung Min (“The Man Standing Next”)

Best Supporting Actress: Kim Mi Kyung (“Kim Ji Young, Born 1982”)

Best New Director: Kim Do Young (“Kim Ji Young, Born 1982”)

Best New Actor: Park Hae Soo (“By Quantum Physics: A Nightlife Venture”)

Best New Actress: Choi Sung Eun (“Start-Up”)

Viewers’ Choice Most Popular Film Award: “E.X.I.T”

White Crane Award: Bong Joon Ho (“Parasite”)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Lee Doo Yong

Technical Award: Kim Young Ho (“The Battle: Roar to Victory”)

Best Screenplay: Lee Sang Geun (“E.X.I.T”)

Special Award for a Film Play: Kim Moon Ok (“Murphy’s Law and Sally’s Law”)

Special Award for an Independent Film: Bong Soo (“Gura and Beethoven”)

Congratulations to all the winners!

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?