BTS And BLACKPINK Make History With Quintuple Million And Double Platinum Circle (Gaon) Certifications

Circle Chart (formerly known as Gaon Chart) has announced a big batch of its latest official certifications!

In 2018, the Korea Music Content Industry Association implemented a new certification system for album sales, song downloads, and online streaming.

On November 10, Circle Chart announced 11 albums that have newly received album sales certifications. Circle Chart certifies albums platinum once they reach 250,000 sales, while albums that have sold a million copies or more receive a “million” certification.

The only album to become triple platinum certified this month is “Savage,” aespa’s first mini album that was released last October.

TWICE’s seventh mini album “FANCY YOU” has gone double platinum, as well as member Nayeon’s debut solo album “IM NAYEON.” Also earning double platinum certifications were TXT’s second mini album “The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY” and NMIXX’s second single album “ENTWURF.”

NCT 127’s first repackaged album “Regulate” and Red Velvet’s “The ReVe Festival: Day 1” have also both been certified platinum.

BTS’s chart-topping 2020 album “Map of the Soul: 7” has earned a quintuple million certification, becoming the first album in Korean history to sell over 5 million copies!

BLACKPINK’s hit studio album “BORN PINK” from earlier this year has received a double million certification, while million certifications were awarded to NCT 127 for their latest album “2 Baddies” and TXT for their first full-length album “The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE.”

Songs are certified platinum in the streaming category when they surpass 100 million streams.

BLACKPINK has made history by becoming the first Korean girl group in history to earn a double platinum Circle streaming certification with their 2018 title track “DDU-DU DDU-DU“!

Five songs earned also platinum achievements this month, starting with smash hits “LOVE DIVE” by IVE and “TOMBOY” by (G)I-DLE.

The other tracks to go platinum this month were MeloMance’s Kim Min Seok’s “Drunken Confession,” sokodomo’s “Merry-Go-Round” (featuring Zion.T and Wonstein and produced by Slom), as well as D-Hack and PATEKO’s “OHAYO MY NIGHT.”

Congratulations to all the artists!

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles