2006, May 08

Singer Seven gave a successful performance as a representative singer from Korea at the MTV Asia Awards (MAA) 2006. At the same event, the duo “Kangta & Vanness,” comprising Korean singer Kangta and Taiwanese singer Vanness Wu, a member of the group F4, made its debut.

Seven won the Favorite Artist Award at the event, which was held at the Royal Paragon Hall in Siam Paragon in Bangkok, Thailand, on May 6 at 8 p.m. Singer Rain was last year’s winner of the award.

The MAA is one of the largest music festivals in Asia, bringing Asian singers together.

With 4,000 fans present, the show was hosted by Taiwanese singer Wang Lee Hom and Kelly Rowland, a member of the group Destiny’s Child.

The Favorite Artist Korea was announced immediately after the opening act, attesting to the popularity of Korean pop music in the Asian region. Vanness Wu introduced the winner, saying that he was honored to give an award involving Korean music, which is the most popular these days.

Seven expressed his gratitude in English to his Korean and Asian fans.

He was the fourth singer to give a celebratory performance at the show. While introducing him, host Wang Lee Hom said he expected the Korean singer to give a performance "as hot as Korean kimchi." Clad in gold, Seven indeed presented a sensational performance.

Seven spellbound not only his fans but also the entire audience with powerful dancing and singing. He presented “Passion” and the remix version of “I Know it.”

Another Korean singer, Sean, who handed out the Style Award, said that officials from MTV praised Seven after the show and host Kelly Rowland was impressed by the explosive response he received.

The passionate response was presaged by the fact that some 3,000 fans gathered at Don Muang International Airport when Seven arrived in Bangkok on May 5.

Meanwhile, the duo Kangta & Vanness made its official debut at the MAA 2006. In the closing performance, they presented the title song “Scandal,” combining Kangta’s vocals with Vanness Wu’s rapping.

In addition to Seven and Kangta, singers from other countries appeared in the MAA 2006, such as Con, Hoobastank, Lee Ryan and Tata Young.

Major winners included Ricky Martin (Favorite Male Artist), Kelly Clarkson (Favorite Female Artist), the Back Street Boys (Favorite Pop Act), Green Day (Favorite Rock Act), Con (Favorite Video), and Simon Webbe (Favorite Breakthrough Artist).

MTV Korea will air the MAA 2006 show on May 20 at 3:30 p.m.

Source: http://english.kbs.co.kr/entertainment/news/1395577_11858.html

How does this article make you feel?