Album Review: Chae Yeon Vol. 4

Chae Yeon Vol. 4

1 My Love
2 한 사람
3 부탁
4 낯설은 거짓말
5 게임
6 아련한 기다림
7 서투른 사랑
8 Tell Me
9 고귀한 사랑
10 서글픈 이별
11 Party Tonight
12 My Love (Global Re-Mix)
13 낯설은 거짓말 (Benny Re-Mix)
14 서투른 사랑 (Mojo House Re-Mix)
15 My Love (Bossa Re-Mix)

Chae Yeon yet again comes back with another album, with hopes of trying to cover up her not so successful third album. Her fourth album, unsurprisingly, consists of mainly dance songs with some spices, and little ballads that do justice to her talent. Like her third album, no songs really stand out, and only one or two ballads are memorable. Her title song My Love contains some Latin feel, but is not very outstanding. It sounds like a very typical dance song, and unless Chae Yeon creates a hit through a hit dance, it will be hard for her to hit the charts with this song. A different song that Chae Yeon performed during her come back was 부탁 (Promise), and this song is just as mediocre, although it is a bit more promising with its unique arrangement and melody. Not many dance songs stand out, with the exception of 서글픈 이별 (Lonely Breakup). This is a much slower dance song with a very unique and interesting melody and chorus. Besides that, the other songs sound much like filler.

The few ballads in the album are probably the best songs, and songs such as 한사람 (One Person) and 아련한 기다림 (Misty Await), are very good. Chae Yeon shows she can sing through the songs, and the melodies are very pleasant.

However, overall, like her third album, this album is below mediocre. Hopefully, her fifth will bring the omph that she had in her second album, with the song Two of Us. (credits to Izzie)

Rating: 2/5

Ratings breakdown:
5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles