Album Review: Ji Eun Vol. 1

Ji Eun – Rain

1. Yesterday Different From Today
2. Rain
3. Tell Me Once
4. Choice
5. One Night Lover
6. I’m Sorry
7. Miss You
8. Let You Borrow
9. Love Is Over
10. Separation Is Common To Me
11. Please Stop Now
12. Relationship Between Her and I

Ji Eun, who gained a lot of attention by featuring in many famous artistes’ albums such as Whee Sung, Taebin… and recently Lexy’s hit Up To The Sky, is YG Family’s the newest talent. After four years of training and collecting experience, Ji Eun finally debuted with her first offical album – Rain. Let’s see if this girl satisfied audiences’ expectations.

Ji Eun’s album Rain is a little different from what people often think about YG’s artistes like Lexy or Big Bang. This album doesn’t consist of only R&B and upbeat songs, it also has many great ballads. There’re a lot of ballad/R&B artistes these days, but i think Ji Eun is the most outstanding. On the one hand, she owns a strong voice that is able to reach high notes and a great singing skill that original R&B songs demand; on the other hand, Ji Eun’s voice is also unique, limpid and emotive in ballads. People will be pleased to hear her album with many great R&B as well as ballads.

The album’s title track is Yesterday Different From Today. It was composed by Lee Hyun Jung, who is known for many hits such as Whee Sung’s Useless and Big Mama’s Break Away. Yesterday Different From Today is a moving R&B/ballad. It is not too different from other typical Korean ballads, but Ji Eun is able to show off her powerful voice, as the song’s high notes and ligatures require a lot of skill to perform it. The sad music video, about the separation through a car accident, and the touching lyrics fit this song perfectly. The title track’s not the only great song in this album, it contains many more good songs such as Rain and Love Is Over. Choice is really a great R&B song, a combination of Ji Eun, Lee Eun Joo & Whee Sung while Separation Is Common To Me, like the title track, once again gives a strong impression of the singer’s talent. The only weakness in Ji Eun’s album is her upbeat songs like One Night Lover and I’m Sorry… they’re all catchy, but not as great as the ballads.

Ji Eun didn’t have a lot of promotional activities for this album and she’s rather underrated, but this girl is really talented and her debut album is good as well – definitely worth giving it a try. (credits to AkiraXHebe)

Rating: 4/5

Note: If you like ballads, this album will be 5/5. But if you expect this album to be like Lexy’s style, you may be quite disappointed.

Ratings breakdown:
5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles