Album Review - Park Jin Young (JYP) Vol. 7

Park Jin Young (JYP) – Vol. 7 Back to Stage

01 Kiss
02 The House You Live In

03 Your Girl
04 Delicious (Your Lips)
05 Single feat. Bobby Kim
06 Ddan-Dda-Ra Blues
07 Actually
08 Going Back
09 I Like This Kind of Woman feat. Dynamic Duo & Jun Jae Duk
10 Dangerous Play
11 Cross Each Other feat. Yoon Mi Rae
12 Farewell on Broad Daylight Feat. Sun Yeh of Wonder Girls

JYP, one of Korea’s most renowned producers, CEO, and entertainer has finally come back after six-and-a-half years to please his fans with his seventh studio album. Like how his album title, Back to Stage, states, JYP has returned with his own music after spending the past years producing other artistes such as Bi (Rain), Lim Jeong Hee, and Wonder Girls, as well as collaborating with many others, whether in Korea or overseas. This album is a must-listen as JYP has songs of various styles and rhythm in store for listeners.

JYP has already promoted three singles from his album simultaneously, two of which already have music videos. The first single is track 1 of the album, titled Kiss. The song is perfect for starting off the album with its upbeat tempo and sing-along lyrics of being entranced by a girl’s kiss. The kissing sounds throughout the song definitely bring out the title and the catchy beats only entice listeners to continue with the album. The song Kiss leads to JYP’s main single, The House You Live In. The R&B track is catchy at first listen as it starts off with smooth instrumentals and vocals. The lyrics are quite sad, as it is about a man watching from a distance in anguish his former love, who is now settled with a family. The third single is the last track of the album titled Farewell on Broad Daylight, featuring Sun Yeh of Wonder Girls. Unlike the other two title songs, this duet is a ballad. JYP and Sun Yeh successfully harmonize as they sing about the sadness of breakup, yet being able to cope with it through the help of broad daylight. The album nicely finishes off with this duet track that fans of JYP and Wonder Girls would especially enjoy.

The other songs on this album are equally enjoyable. The ones I particularly enjoyed were 03 Your Girl, 06 Ddan-Dda-Ra Blues, 09 I Like This Kind of Woman featuring Dynamic Duo & Jun Jae Duk, 10 Dangerous Play, and 11 Cross Each Other featuring Yoon Mi Rae. Ddan-Dda-Ra Blues is a catchy song reminiscent of JYP’s famous track, Swing Baby. The styles of the two songs are very similar and it would make listeners get up on their feet and dance like the lyrics suggest. The song Dangerous Play is also a very addictive song with its upbeat beats and vocals. Fans of Bi (Rain) would like this song because of the similar styles. Cross Each Other featuring T (Yoon Mi Rae) is the song that got me to listen to this album in the first place. JYP and T’s vocals and fluent rap make this song a must-listen for everyone.

Overall, this album was great. All the songs were enjoyable and many were catchy at first listen. Many famous singers such as Dynamic Duo, T (Yoon Mi Rae), Bobby Kim, and Sun Ye of Wonder Girls were featured in this album, making it much more memorable. To top it all, JYP wrote all the lyrics and took part in composing all his songs. JYP truly was able to come “back to stage” with a bang.

Rating: 5/5

5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.


You can purchase this album by clicking on the album cover image above.

written by motoway065

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles