Dear Cloud Vol. 1 – Dear Cloud

Purchase this album

1. Not For Your Comfort
2. Ice Fortress
3. If I Could
4. With The Memories Of You Being Beautiful
5. Goodbye, My Treasures
6. Dream
7. Same Person
8. I Miss That Attic
9. Cloud Avenue
10. Words
11. Thorn
12. Fly Fly Fly

Dear Cloud is a new modern rock group. Like many modern rock groups in Korea, Dear Cloud is a co-ed group with a female lead singer. But they started off with only a guitarist (Yong-Rin) and a vocalist (Nine) back in 2005 before three other members joined the band: Elang (Bassist), Jung-A (Keyboardist) and Dong Hoon (Drummer). Later on, Dong Hoon was replaced by a new drummer, Kwang-Suk. They kicked off their music career by performing in various clubs and concerts. Unlike most new band groups, Dear Cloud showed great charisma and passion on stage and they were very popular in club scenes in 2006. They’ve even earned support and recognition for their music from other musicians and bands, notably from Toy (Yoo Hee Yeol), Lucid Fall and Lee Juck.

Fundamentally, their music consists of new century England music. Although Dear Cloud are not up to par with well-known bands like Placebo, Snow Petrol and Cold Play in England, they’ll try to win the hearts of the people by being the best Korean modern rock band.

All the songs from this album are written by the members themselves. The title song "Ice Fortress" has a sad melodic line and sentimental lyrics. It has an attractive and addictive melody that should please all fans. "If I Could" is another mid-tempo song that has the potential to be the 2nd single. Basically the first half of the album is targeted towards mainstream listeners. If you are looking for more hardcore rock stuff, the second half of the album offers you just that with more up-tempo tunes. My recommendations are "Same Person", "Cloud Avenue" and "Words".

Most rock groups use guitar as background arrangement, but Dear Cloud also use piano on some of the songs. "With The Memories Of You Being Beautiful" is a slow tempo song that perhaps best showcases the lead singer’s vocal. "Same Person" is a song that starts off slow but the tempo picks up quickly later on.

Overall, I think this is one of the better modern rock albums I’ve heard recently. All the songs are very good and you won’t feel bored listening to the album over and over again.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.

– credits to purpletiger86 for translations