Album Review - Gummy Vol 4: Comfort

Gummy Vol 4 – Comfort

gummy comfort

01 Intro (Work It Now) (Feat. G-Dragon)
02 Clap Your Hands (Feat. Perry)
03 I’m Sorry (Feat. T.O.P)
04 Don’t Love
05 After Looking Into the Mirror (Feat. Red Roc)
06 Let’s Get It Party (Feat. 45rpm)
07 Last Party
08 Sting
09 Hoping It’s Not a Breakup
10 I’m Gonna Miss U (W.Ji Eun)
11 Up to Here (Feat. Skull)
12 Hallucination
13 Before the Music Ends
14 I’m Sorry (Hare Trance Remix)

Purchase this album

Gummy, one of Korea’s renowned divas, has finally returned to the music scene three years later with her fourth studio album, Comfort. She has gained much popularity and success since her debut and this time it is no different. In this album, Gummy took the challenge of experimenting with various genres such as electronica, dance, and reggae, while continuing to show off her R&B and ballad skills.

The title track of this album is an electronica dance number, “I’m Sorry”, which features Big Bang member TOP. This song is very different from Gummy’s usual R&B title tracks such as the now famous “Amnesia”. However this is a good change as it still showcases Gummy’s vocals, which continuously haunt listeners as she repeats the phrase “I’m sorry” throughout the song. The mellow melody definitely grows on you and TOP’s rap only spices up the track. There is also a remix version of this song for those who enjoy trance.

I could easily recommend every track in the album (as all the songs are rated between 3-5 stars on my itunes), but there are a couple that definitely stand out from the rest. Fans of upbeat songs that showcase Gummy’s vocals would enjoy “Last Party”. Right from the start, Gummy’s strong vocals can be heard and to make things even better, in the middle of the song, fans can hear her rap. Those who listen to Masta Wu would notice right away that the rap lyrics are the same from his own song, “Cry”. Another track I would recommend would be track 9, “Hoping It’s Not a Breakup”, which is very reminiscent of Gummy’s other ballads. The song is very touching especially during the chorus parts. Two other tracks I would recommend are “I’m Gonna Miss U”, which is a duet track with Ji Eun, and “Hallucination” which sampled parts of Leon Ware’s song, “Where Are They Now”. Both are tracks of a slower tempo and are very soothing to the ears, especially the later track.

To wrap things up, I would like to conclude by saying that Gummy’s album was definitely up to my expectations. With songs of various genres, I’m sure there’s a song for everyone’s tastes. In addition, Gummy partook in composing two songs (After Looking Into the Mirror (Feat. Red Roc) and Hallucination), which is a definite plus. I recommend everyone who isn’t yet a fan of Gummy to give her songs a chance; you won’t regret it!


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles