Jang Ri In Vol. 1 – Star Wish (I WILL)

Jang Ri In / Zhang Li Yin (장리인 / 張力尹) – Star Wish (I

1. Intro
2. First Love
3. A Flame for You
4. Star Wish (I WILL)
5. The Left Shore of Happiness
6. After
7. Wrongly Given Love (feat. Kim Jong Hyun)
8. Believe in Love
9. Perfect Love (feat. Song Bing Yang)
10. One More Try
11. Y (Why…)
12. Timeless
13. I WILL (Korean)
14. Lovers (Korean)

Purchase this album

Jang Ri In has sparked interest ever since her debut in
late 2006. Timeless, her first single, turned out to be a decent hit.
Unfortunately after that, it seemed that nothing big would come anytime soon
from the singer except for songs in the annual SMTown albums. Finally, in
February 2008, fans became excited with the March release of her first album.
Star Wish (I WILL) is Ri In’s debut album and for those expecting some Kpop,
you might surprised to hear that the album is sung in Mandarin, except for the
bonus tracks. Those who are looking for ballads, you’ve come to the right

The title track, Star Wish (I WILL), is definitely the strongest song in the
album. It’s a ballad that does Ri In’s vocals justice. Unlike the promotional
tracks in her Timeless single, Ri In sounds far more comfortable and her vocals
are extended to the maximum. She sings with a sincere grace and is able to
control her voice quite well. The arrangement is quite gorgeous in the sense
that it remains quite calm even as Ri In sings with power. The piano
foundation, with the addition of the bass, synths and perfectly matching
strings, definitely provide the song with the standard ballad feel, but with an
extra boost.

Like I’ve said earlier, fans of ballads will love this album. First Love, the
first song of the album is the perfect song to set the mood. The song starts
off quite subtly, but builds as it progresses, both in music and in vocals. Ri
In’s vocals are strong and the emotion felt through them is insane. Still, an
album still can’t be without its upbeat songs, or it wouldn’t be able to catch
a listener’s attention. One More Try is probably the best and only song with a
slightly more upbeat R&B sound. Ri In still does a great job adapting to
the change and style. Classics, such as Y (Why…) and Timeless are also included
to provide fans with Ri In’s debut hits.

With a slew of newcomers popping up in Korea, it’s great that Ri In is being
marketed in China, so she can have a chance to gain some recognition. Her voice
is different from many newcomers in the Chinese industry and though she’s
mainly ballad-oriented, she has proved that she can easily adapt to other
genres. It’s no doubt that Ri In will definitely gain more steam as time goes


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to
your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?