Album Review: Kangta Mini-Album - Eternity

Kangta (강타) – Eternity

1. 어느날 가슴이 말했다 (Eternity)
2. 너를 닮아 (Still With You)
3. 책갈피 (Reminiscence)
4. 그래서 미안합니다 (Since you’ve gone)
5. 7989 (Duet. Tae Yeon of So Nyeo Shi Dae)
6. 가슴에 남아 (Still my heart)
7. 어느 날 가슴이 말했다 (Eternity) (Inst.)
8. 책갈피 (Reminiscence) (Inst.)

Purchase this album

Kangta has been one of the biggest artistes since the mid-90s. First debuting with the legendary boyband, H.O.T., Kangta went solo in 2001, which resulted in a huge hit, Polaris. Since his debut solo album, he has released 2 studio albums, 1 best album, 1 concert album and has also done a few collaboration projects. Eternity is his last solo release since 2005’s Persona. Though not a full album, it holds 6 tracks which will surely satisfy fans who have been expecting a release since his last project, SCANDAL. Now in military service for the next 2 years, this will be the last release for fans to enjoy until he is out. Like most of his past work, Eternity brings a mature feel to it, swinging closer to the ballad and slower songs.

The title track, Eternity, is very similar to Kangta’s past hits, Pine Tree and Polaris. The song uses very similar instruments as well as following very similar arrangements to the two songs. However, the song still has its own light and that’s Kangta’s vocal. Unlike in the older videos, his voice is very controlled here. He doesn’t show off as much power as he did in the older days, but his unique tone really helps keep the notes ringing. He’s also one of the few ballad singers that can pull all the emotions out of the songs with just his voice and he pretty much did it here. The underlying strings in the beginning also bring out a powerful feel when they are brought to the forefront by the time the bridge comes around. Though the piano is the foundation of the song, it’s definitely the use of the other instruments that pulls off the ballad’s beauty.

Though the majority of the songs are slower, that doesn’t mean that Kangta didn’t pull off a few other things. Track 2, Still With You, gives fans a taste of a casual R&B track. Though the song itself isn’t quite a stand-out, it’s a nice change from the majority of the mini-album. His voice just slides through the notes and the power he puts in at the end helps showcase his strengths. Track 4 is also another good track. Since You’ve Gone is a ballad, but follows a different story compared to Eternity. I would classify it as a little more "mainstream". It’s definitely not the most amazing song arrangement-wise, but Kangta’s vocals are just breathtaking. His ability to control his vocals, while still executing the emotion, definitely gives the song a lot of moments.

Kangta is no fool and with Eternity, he played to his strengths. Some fans might feel a little bored with the amount of slower tracks, but it’s no doubt that he excelled in most, if not all, of the tracks. He might not show a lot of versatility when it comes to other genres in this mini-album, but he’s definitely able to pull of different types of ballads, which works well for him. So whether you’re looking for something to just relax to, or you just want to listen to something that’s heart-wrenching, Kangta is the guy.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles