Shin Hye Sung Vol. 3 Side 1 - Live and Let Live

01 . Live And Let Live
02 . Awaken
03 . 그대라서

04 . 사랑하기 좋은 날 (Duet. 이하늬)
05 . Urban Fever (Feat. $howgun)
06 . Waltz
07 . Love Actually (Feat. Vink)
08 . 피터팬의 세레나데
09 . Promise (Duet. ‘유리상자’ 박승화)
10 . 후유증
11 . Awaken inst
12 . 그대라서 inst.

The third album ‘Live and Let Live’ from Shin Hyesung, released at the end of August, not only explores the different styles I hoped it would, but without doubt pushes him forward in musical achievement.

After a moody 2 minutes into the first song, the tempo and feel change immediately with track 2 ‘Awaken’, a brit-rock style number that is catchy, passionate and excitingly different to listen to. Backed by rock band NEXT, it’s exciting to hear this first change of style, an excellent choice to promote the album on the Gayo shows. ‘Because of you’ (그대라서) is calmer and mellower, and the second of the songs currently being promoted. A soft rock ballad, it was written by Vink (lyrics by Yun SaRa) and has a distinctive guitar rif that reminds me of 90s indie bands I was always fond of.

The album features a duet with Honey Lee, the former Miss Korea, an upbeat lounge music style of ballad which is easy on the ear. ‘Urban Fever’ (feat. $howgun) is a cheerful funky piece with a touch of 70s disco to it. ‘Miss Terry’ from his second album was more fun and engaging, but the rap ensures it stays original. ‘Love Actually’ is bright and cheerful and the album overall is far more impressive than the rather bland offerings from ‘Beginning, New Days’.

Vink, the composer of ‘Island’ from his second album, has written and produced again for him this time and also features in the album. Vink, who worked with Shinhwa on their 9th album, is a superb composer who is gaining much deserved recognition. When I heard he was working on Hyesung’s 3rd album, I stopped worrying about the quality of what was being produced and began to look forward to the end result – I was not disappointed. Even though Hyesung will produce a part 2 of his album in November that focuses on ballads, I hope he continues with this experimental drive and doesn’t allow himself to be irrevocably trapped in the ballad genre when, as this album shows, he is definitely capable of much more.

5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet 


How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles