Album review: TBNY - 2집. HI Side-A

TBNY – 2집. HI Side-A 


1. H.I
2. Hero
3. Hey DJ (Feat. 한소현 From 3rd Coast, DJ Friz)
4. 잔상 (Feat. 권기범, DJ Friz)
5. 천천히 (Feat. Mellow)
6. Bye Bye Bye
7. Half Time

Purchase this album 

TBNY (Topbob N’ Yankie or The Basement Noise Yellas) are a hip-hop duo that have a connection with The Movement and have featured in many albums, more in fact than their own releases, the last of which was 2 years ago.

I was keen to listen to this album based on the fact that Tablo composed the third and main track ‘Hey DJ’, and whilst that particular song stood out, I was not too thrilled with some of the others. The album felt too patchy and stitched together with samples, and there was nothing that pulled it together. Track 5 samples heavily from Madonna’s ‘Angel’, a track that is far too distinctive and dominates the song rather than blends in. I did however like the sampling in Track 4 – Spectrum, the 30s vintage trumpet, so originally sampled in ‘Your Woman’ by White Town, fitted the song well.

Overall it’s not an album I would recommend that you rush out and buy, but it’s worth it if you want to complete your Epik High/Tablo collection or have some dollars to spare.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles