Album Review: W&Whale Vol. 1 - HARDBOILED
W&Whale Vol. 1 – HARDBOILED

1. MacGuffin No.1
2. 오빠가 돌아왔다
3. Stardust
4. Morning Star
5. 아가사 크리스티의 이중생활
6. R.P.G. Shine
7. MacGuffin No.2
8. 월광 (月狂)
9. Too Young To Die (Too Drunk To Live)
10. 고양이 사용 설명서
11. Whale Song
12. R.P.G. (Rocket Punch Generation)
13. 최종병기 그녀
14. Dear My Friend
15. MacGriffin No.3
16. 우리의 해피엔드

Purchase This Album

W, a three-piece band who are well known for their OST songs, and Whale, a female soloist who has been featured in a few Clazziquai-related albums, have joined together to create an awkward, but powerful album. The album fuses electronica and a variety of other genres ranging from R&B to jazz to light rock into one. Despite being relatively new, the duo have performed together in numerous OSTs before the release of their debut album, which has brought them some attention. Now, with their new album behind their backs and their first single being a hit, it’s no doubt they will become another respected group in the music industry.

R.P.G Shine is pure innovation. Using a light and somewhat futuristic sound, the song is able to show what W&Whale have to offer to the industry. Much like Clazziquai who are often known for their ability to fuse pop and electronica into one, W&Whale do the same, in a way that not only brings back sounds reminiscent of older styles, but also of modern ones. From the fast-paced verse where Whale just slices through the words, to the funky yet strikingly melodic chorus where the blending of piano and synths take everything to another level, the song is just plain amazing.

The rest of the album offers even more for listeners. Starting from the sassy Obbaga Dorawattda and ending with the disco-esque Uriui Haepiendeu, the album offers a different view of the genre that has been sweeping the nation in 2008. Morning Star, probably my favourite in the album, is a calm electronic pop song that reminds one of Clazziquai’s music. It’s catchy, which is quite surprising despite its more toned-down sound when compared to other songs in the album. Another great song is Agasa Keuriseutiui Ijungsaenghwal. Though it has a long name, the song has a darker feel and Whale’s vocals are just intoxicating as she uses her falsetto a great deal. The song has a trance-like feel, but still remains quite calm.

If you’re looking for something creative and different from the usual mainstream music, then try out W&Whale. Not only does the album offer different styles, the whole concept is just amazing. I am definitely looking forward to their next album as this is by far my favourite album of 2008.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles