Album Review Zooropa Yellow Volume 1 – Memories

Zooropa Yellow – Memories

01. Memories
02. 널 지울게
03. U
04. 보고싶어
05. 구름 위를 걷다
06. 다가와
07. 기억해 줘
08. 바람 부는 날
09. 0109
10. 그곳에
11 Memories (Original)
12 널 지울게 (Original)

Purchase This Album

Words are hard to describe this album, but here I go. This is Zooropa Yellow’s debut album and a pretty amazing one too. After the release of their single Cosmic Rays (which I have yet to listen to), they have come back with I Will Erase You, a pop rock song with a 3D-animated music video. In each and every song, there is a smooth flow that makes you want to listen to the songs over and over again. The gayageum (traditional Korean zither-like instrument with 12 to 21-strings) played by member Min Hye In is just fabulous. You can hear it playing in most tracks, like tracks 1, 4 and 5. By adding the gayageum to the songs, Zooropa Yellow make the songs more meaningful and interesting. The songs are not too low or too high. They have a slow, smooth blend that makes a listener feel relaxed. By adding the gayageum, the album is even more unique than any other type of Korean indie/modern rock music I have listened to thus far. With lead vocalist and guitarist Kim Jae Yong’s relaxing and powerful voice, the songs are filled with emotion and gentle beats, surpassing what I had first expected. Listeners can feel the group’s passion in the album.

When I was first asked to write the album review for Zooropa Yellow, I felt a little hesitant. Deciding that I liked the title track (track 2: I Will Erase You), I figured I should try the rest of the album. After having the whole album on "repeat" mode for a few days, I do not regret listening to the album at all. It has become, for me, the album to listen to when I get mad, feel a little down, or just because I want to. It’s an album that is not disappointing at all, one that I look forward to listening to every time I grab my mp3 player. It has an amazing and unique blend of instruments and vocals to make a great first album.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet