Album Review – Clazziquai Project – Metrotronics

Clazziquai Project – Metrotronics: With DJ Max

01 Electronics
02 Flea
03 Beat in Love
04 Color
05 Night Stage
06 Creator
07 Beautiful Stranger (Sliced Cheese Remix)
08 Beat in Love (Nakata Remix)

Purchase this Album

Clazziquai have been out since 2001, when members DJ Clazzi, Alex and Horan released music a bit different from what was initially popular in mainstream Korea. Their music worked with electronica, house, jazz, and groove and it wasn’t until the hit drama series, My Lovely Kim Sam Soon, came out in 2005 that the project group became increasingly popular with their hit song “She Is”. With this accomplishment under their belts, the group continued to release hits in Korea and even worked with Japanese artistes including m-flo. It’s been almost a year since Clazziquai Project have released anything in Korea, their last being the Robotica album, as Alex pursued a solo album while Horan took part in various project groups. Just three months ago, however, they released a Japanese albu, titled Beat in Love and in November, returned to Korea once again with a special album titled Metrotronics.

This album, which features music more on the techno side ,was made for the popular PSP game DJ Max Portable, allowing Clazziquai to show a different side of them. The title track is “Flea”, which is an electronica techno number with amazing arrangement and melody done by DJ Clazzi. The song is basically about the uncertainty of the modern society and this can be distinctly heard just by the mood of the song alone. In addition, Alex and Horan complement well with the aura of the song, which managed to catch my attention right from the start.

“Beat In Love” is the next track and it is of a lighter mood, very reminiscent of their third album’s style (ie. “Lover Boy”). This song was originally from their Japanese album release, but it doesn’t hurt to include this number into the album. The song is very smooth and easy on the ears, and I think people who enjoy Clazziquai’s older works will like this track. Another track I’d like to mention is “Color”. This is an instrumental track done by DJ Clazzi, but the intricate sound mixing he has done is worth listening. Towards the middle of the song, there are heavier sounds which give the song a new twist. The last song worth recommending is “Creator”. The song starts off with vocals which give a dark quality to it. However, it soon leads to the chorus which gives a hopeful message.

In conclusion, I say that this album is pretty similar to their Robotica album in terms of style. However, there are some songs that are reminiscent of their third album, LOVE CHILD of the CENTURY. In addition, there are new innovative sounds as shown through “Flea”. With a bit of everything included in this album, I say this is worth giving a try.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?