Album Review – Park Kang Sung – Vol. 6 Out Going in Seven Years…

Park Kang Sung – Vol. 6 Out Going in Seven Years…

01 Sorry
02 I Love You
03 Tequila
04 Beautiful Person
05 Star In My Heart
06 Even Though You Hate, Give Me One More Chance
07 White Night
08 Dreams Come True
09 Feeling
10 Us Back in Time
11 My Life
12 One Person
13 Toy Soldier feat. Buga Kingz

Purchase This Album

Park Kang Sung has finally released his sixth studio album, seven years since his last, thus the title of the album. People familiar with him know him as the king of live music who releases hits after hits, each filled with great emotion. This album is no different, with many songs, from moving ballads to trot influenced upbeat songs, catered to different tastes.

The title track is “Sorry” (track 1), which Park himself picked as a favorite. This ballad number starts off with sad piano and guitar arrangements and then bursts into Park Kang Sung’s explosive vocals. Overall, it is very expressive as the lyrics are about meeting one’s love many years later, unable to say sorry for all the things done in the past.

A song that stood out was “I Love You” (track 2), which is another ballad, but an exceptional one. It samples the melody of the famous “You Raise Me Up”, which is played very smoothly with violin arrangements. Park’s voice is very husky yet powerful, and this song has a very contemporary feel to it, which I think many k-pop listeners may like. “Tequila” (track 3) takes on an opposite turn as it has a Latin and trot vibe. This upbeat number talks about forgetting one’s worries with tequila. You can dance along to the song and it may even fit with what some listeners may go through. I also enjoyed “My Life” (track 11), which is of the rock genre. It is very upbeat and showcases Park’s vocals. The guitar seems like the focal point in this song and it accompanies the melody well. The last song I want to recommend is “Toy Solider” (track 13), which features R&B/hip-hop group Buga Kingz. The song takes upon this style and starts off with mainstream arrangements, melody and then with some rap. The song is very hip and I recommend everyone to give it a listen.

Despite Park Kang Sung being a singer for older generations, I felt that he was successful in capturing a bigger audience by staying true to the older styles but at the same time trying out different genres.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?