Album Review – SNSD – The First Mini Album – Gee
SNSD – The First Mini Album – Gee

01 Gee
02 Way to Go
03 Dear Mom
04 Destiny
05 Let’s Talk About LOVE

Purchase This Album

After an eight-month hiatus from their first album release, SNSD have returned to the spotlight with their first mini album, Gee. Right away, the girls received much love and support from fans, reaching and remaining number one for many weeks to come. Whether this album actually has potential among a wider span of music lovers, however, we shall see.

The title track is Gee, which garnered much interest prior to the album release through its music video teaser and so forth. It was composed by E-TRIBE who is known most notably for Lee Hyori’s U-Go-Girl. This bubble-gum pop number captures your interest at first listen with its infectious chorus, “gee gee gee gee baby baby baby”, and cute lyrics. The girls also did a great job with their ad-libs which, along with the small synthesized parts in the song, made the track all the more interesting.

Another song that has potential is Way to Go, which is basically a longer version of their cf track, Haptic Motion. It is very happy-go-lucky and incorporates the electric guitar which helps bring out the energy of the song. Likewise, SNSD play their part in the song by showing off their vocal skills, proving to listeners that they have more than what it takes to be idols singers.

Dear. Mom, on the other hand, is a ballad number which is very reminiscent of something an SM singer would release. Personally, I found this song to be very mediocre as it lacked something special. Overall, I see this song as a filler track that may be easily forgotten. The fourth track of the album is Destiny, which definitely has the 90s pop feel to it. The synthesized parts are quite catchy, but there really isn’t anymore to the song to make it worth re-listening. The last song of the album is Let’s Talk About LOVE, which is a medium-tempo pop number. Once again, there is no extra oomph to the song that caught my interest, though fans may enjoy it for the girls’ vocals and fun beats.

Overall, there were only two songs I really enjoyed, Gee and Way To Go. It was the energy SNSD gave in those songs which captured my attention, something I failed to sense in the other three lacklustre songs. However, I feel that fans will definitely get a kick out of this album.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?