Album Review: Tei Vol. 5 - The Note
Tei (테이) – Vol. 5 "The Note"

01 New Face
02 Miracle-Like Story
03 3 AM
04 Snail
05 Solo Love
06 Love You Again
07 I Like You
08 Why Didn’t I Know at The Time?
09 Layer of Frost
10 My Song
11 I Like You Like This
Purchase this album

It’s been close to two years since Tei graced his fans with his voice. Often known for his ballads, the singer does not disappoint with his latest release, The Note. Comprising 11 tracks (1 interlude), the album, though perfect for the winter season, can be listened to at any time. Brimming with emotion, Tei is here again to captivate his audience with a mix of ballads and mid-tempo pop tracks. It’s no doubt that one of the kings of ballads will have another hit on his hands.

Miracle-Like Story is an love ballad that just sweeps you off your feet. A song of memories, the arrangement fits the theme perfectly. Starting off with the piano, the use of strings is also prominent, giving the song a uplifting quality to it. The main thing that drew me in was the power the arrangement had. It just captures your attention, while also providing a strong foundation for Tei’s vocals, which are just incredible. Like many other Korean male balladeers, Tei possesses a strong voice, which allows him to deal with the power behind the music. Even with this strength, his tone is soothing and quite attractive.

To my surprise, the album is mainly comprised of ballads. Although this was somewhat suspected, I was hoping for more upbeat material in order to hear Tei’s versatility. One track that stood out was track 3, 3 AM. This song carries a far more serious tone when compared to the title track. Once again, the strings are prominent, but are used instead to give off a haunting feel. Tei’s vocals are outstanding once again. Another strikingly stand-out track is the last one, I Like You Like This. This upbeat rock track is a strong ending to the album as it is quite unforgettable. Its blaring guitar riffs and fast-paced feel really add some explosion to this album. The only problem I found was that Tei’s vocals weren’t as attractive in this song as in his ballads. Still, a great ending.

Tei’s return is definitely something that any ballad fan should look out for. His voice is strong yet attractive, and his songs definitely leave a lasting impression. I was thoroughly impressed by this album because despite the fact that most of the songs are ballads, every song is of the highest quality. He’s made me a fan and now I hope that his next release will be of the same strength.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles