Album Review Phonebooth Vol. 1 – The Way To Live On

Phonebooth Vol. 1 — The Way To Live On

01 . Rock Me Tonight
02 . Hey Girl
03 . Got A Chance
04 . Time Is Over
05 . It Is Your Mind
06 . Pizza Boy
07 . No Fiction
08 . Dial
09 . 꿈이 춤을 추도록
10 . Scooter Blues
11 . Tim Is Over (곰 PD Remix)


Phonebooth was formed in 2005, with the members fresh out from high school. Passionate about rock and roll, the band incorporates many types of music that they tried to make sound like The Beatles and Oasis. Phonebooth like certain elements in British music and being able to incorporate them with their style of music shows listeners their enthusiasm for music and their crazy and fun side. The band has been formed for four years now, but continues to develop and will hopefully make a grand appearance soon. The album "The Way To Live On" was released earlier this year with a few difficulties. According to the band members, it was a risk to make the album and be able to preserve the quality of the music, so the album was truly created by fate. "The Way To Live On" shows a passionate rock and roll way of life and tells young people to be honest in society and true to themselves. It’s also about the joy of life and finding time to enjoy oneself.

This album was refreshing to listen to, considering the fact that so far there have not been many new releases of underground music this year. The title track titled "Got A Chance" consists of an interesting blend of instruments clashing together with the vocalist to make a pretty decent song. "Got A Chance" is pretty catchy, cheery and pleasant. The music video clearly shows how much fun the song is. Being able to hear the music from the album is alluring. All the tracks are titled in English and that gives us a gist of what the songs are about. Usually, it is not so much the title that matters but the music within. However, in this case, the titles themselves show us what the music is really about: your regular ole life and what you want to make out of it.

Track 6 is a fascinating track. Titled "Pizza Boy", it is a questionable song. First off, when I think of pizza boys, I just think of a dude delivering pizzas, but this song has more depth to it than we think. It talks about loneliness and how no one really notices him. Nobody really knows him and basically doesn’t really give a hoot about pizza boys. Come on, I just want to eat my pizza. Who cares about the pizza boy (or girl). Well, not in this case. The song is touching. Not as touching as ballads, but touching in a way that you would want to go to a lonely person and say "hey, you wanna hang out tonight?" That’s how good the song is. It’s not as rockish as the other songs, but it’s a wondrous track.

The weirdest thing about the album has to be the cover: Egyptian pharaohs playing guitars. Now, is that awesome or what? Phonebooth members said the title track "Got A Chance" shows them that they have an opportunity to shape their lives and produce great music like that of the American band, The Killers. Overall, a pretty amazing album. I had not wanted to listen to the album initially, but after reviewing it, it gives me even more consideration for underground music. Not all underground music is the same and this album helped showed me that so long as one has a passion for music, anything is possible. Phonebooth should definitely get their chance.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.