Album Review Jung Se Hun Vol. 1 - Comfort

Jung Se Hun  Vol. 1 – Comfort

01. Comfort
02. Once Upon A Dream
03. 꿈꾸는 섬
04. Hope
05. 생명의 양식
06. Ave Maria
07. 마법의 성
08. 심연
09. 남몰래 흐르는 눈물
10. 울게 하소서
11. 자장가
12. Long Long Ago (Special Track)
13. Hope – MR


Once in a while, who doesn’t listen to music as different and powerful as popera? Most of us would probably take one look (or maybe not even notice) this type of genre. I have to say that this type of music should only be for people who are really serious music listeners, because the richness and uniqueness of the songs will comfort you and give you inner peace. The songs are soothing to the ear and warm to the heart. It is great music by really talented artistes. Even if this isn’t typical of the music you’d normally listen to, at least set aside your bias and your thoughts and just listen. Concentrate on the music only. Then only will the true depth and meanings of the music come out. "Comfort" is a great intro track for the album. Although not the title song, it is pretty okay.

When listening to the songs, it brings me back to when I was a young child. It reminds me of the times I sat through the orchestra concerts or watched the prince and princess dancing to their happily ever after. Lame, but true. But it’s a good thing if it can remind me of something because then the music has even more significance, right? Jung Se Hun may not have gained as much popularity or fame as Lim Hyung Joo, the young popera sensation, but his voice is his own, his own individual voice. I say add at least one popera song, or even better, a CD, into your music collection. If you show people that you have interest in popera, you can gain respect from people you don’t expect respect from. How can you get respect from listening to popera? It sort of shows others that you really know the quality of great music. Music comes in many forms and genres. This is just another type of music that is absolutely mind-blowing.

Track 7, "마법의 성", is a popera version of Magic Castle, also covered by famous boyband Dong Bang Shin Ki. It sounds very beautiful, no matter what version the song is. The beats and melody are wonderful. Although this album was released in early 2000s, it doesn’t hurt to try music at all. Music never dies and this album will truly live on, at least within me. I’m proud to say I now own popera music.



5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – Only a fan would buy this.
1/5 – Even a fan might be disappointed

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles