Album Review: Project Rock 1st Album - Beautiful Days

Project Rock – Beautiful Days

01. 하나되어
02. 사랑가
03. Music Is My Life
04. 난감하네
05. 밀양아리랑
06. La-Flanneo(라플람)
07. Beautiful Days
08. Happy Bona
09. 기다리는 마음
10. 바람이 머무는 곳
11. 난감하네(Remix Version) / Feat. 이준혁, Remix 전영진

    I am surprised that I didn’t listen to this album sooner. I originally thought it was a rock album because of their name. Their group is titled “Project Rock”, “rock” meaning refinement in Chinese. The artists, talented musicians in Korea, describe how they formed in 2006 trying to reach after mainstream Korean traditional rhythm and ideas of music. They don’t sing about their own dreams, but to the listener’s dreams instead. Inside the album booklet under the lyrics of each song, they tell us what the song is about and/or about what it should be in English, a first that I have seen. I think that they want to have both Koreans and non-Koreans to know and appreciate traditional music. Usually when a person is introduced to Korean music, we are listening to mainstream music like DBSK and SNSD, correct? In this case, the musicians want to show others their traditional music that they love and are happy to perform on stages. The first track is just an instrumental of various traditional Korean music but the variations blended together make a beautiful piece of music and a wonderful introduction to the album.
    The album “Beautiful Days” is a unique and touching album. Music-wise the songs are very traditional and new to my taste in music. Though I may not prefer this genre, I think that the purpose of this album isn’t to like it or not, but to appreciate the work of these musicians and the work they have put into this. The songs may not fit your taste, but it doesn’t hurt to give it a try. I would have to say you would have to be a really open-minded person to be able to listen to this kind of music if you are not a fan of traditional Korean music.
    All tracks have a significant meaning behind them, but tracks 3 and 7 stand out the most. Track 3 “Music is My Life” talks about going against mainstream music trend and just loving music as music. Track 7, “Beautiful Days” is about the world that we dream about, what we would call our “Dream World.” They wish that this song can refresh the people who are sick of their mediocre lives. Overall, it was an awkward album but there’s a lot of essential purposes of it and I appreciate such an album.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – Only a fan would buy this.
1/5 – Even a fan might be disappointed.

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles