Andy Vol 1. : The First New Dream

01 . New Dream (Intro)
02 . Love Song
03 . Timing
04 . U Turn
05 . 바라고 또 바라고
06 . 우리, 사랑할까요?
07 . 얼굴 빨개졌다네
08 . 널 생각해
09 . Never give up
10 . 엉뚱한 상상
11 . 거짓말
12 . Music In My Heart

buy HERE 

I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this album seeing as Andy is better known for his rap in Shinhwa and roles in Dramas than as a singer. I was pleasantly surprised though by the quality work and effort put into the album as well as the many collaborations with other artists.

The tracks swing in tempo between the catchy upbeat ‘Love Song’ and ballads like ‘Gerjitmal ‘. Track 10 shows a return to his rap roots with  ‘Irrelevant Imagination’, a track that was written by JYP and features YooBin of the Wonder Girls. It was not my favorite at all, nor was the collaboration with other Shinhwa members, even though it was touching to see such camaraderie. Their voices dominated the song a little too much as they are far too distinctive and distracting. Far better was the jazzy duet with Byul ‘Will We Love?’ showing the wide variety of styles he is capable of.

It was Gerjitmal ‘Lies’ however that impressed me the most, one of two featured tracks taken from the ‘Music in my Heart’ musical he starred in. It’s the perfect song for his voice as is the second of the musical songs, a duet with An Ju Min. Andy has the right voice for a musical rather than power ballads, something I am sure he will explore more in the future as a good combination for his vocal and acting skills.

Now that his newest album is out, this is one you might want to add to your collection.

5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet