Album Review – Vibe – Vol. 4 – Vibe in Praha

Vibe – Vol. 4 – Vibe in Praha

Posted Image

01 Letter from Praha
02 Come Back to Me_ [MV] [Live]
03 Story Part 1
04 During the Night of Shining Stars
05 Only as an Oppa’s Youngling
06 Old Love
07 Live Together
08 Married
09 Return
10 I Miss You So Much
11 If It Was You
12 Have You Gone Crazy
13 Story Part 2
14 Let’s Have a Shot of Soju, Friend
15 South Gate of Seoul
16 Pray for Glory
17 My Star

Purchase This Album

Korea’s top R&B group, Vibe known for many hits such as “Even If You Hate, Just Once” and “Long Long Time” returns with its fourth album, “Vibe in Praha” after a four year hiatus. During this gap, the members have been busy serving their mandatory military service and preparing for their new album. Ryu Jae Hyun, who is known for his “moving lyrics” and Yoon Min Soo, who is known for his “sad and emotional vocals” have come before fans once again with a seventeen-track album.

The album begins with “Letter from Praha” a beautiful orchestral arrangement that sets the mood for the album. As this beautiful composition produced by Ryu Jae Hyun comes to an end, the title track, “Come Back to Me” ensues. The following is a very emotional number with powerful vocals exuding from the two members. The dramatic instrumentals assist in bringing such feelings forward.

“Old Love” on the other hand takes upon a lighter approach. The country feel depicted through the usage of strings and bongo-like drums gives this song a laid-back and chill mood. The duo’s vocals once again do not fail in mastering this number. The follow track, “Living Together” brings listeners to yet another part of the world – this time in Europe. The song seems to come straight out of a Korean drama, as the protagonist explores the different cafes and streets Europe has to offer. The group once again does a great job showcasing their emotional vocals as they sing about not being able to treat their loved ones as much as they would have liked.

The album continues on with “I Miss You So Much,” a collaboration with fellow R&B group, 4men. The smooth yet slick vocals of the two respective groups make this the ultimate present for R&B and ballad fans. The song hits a climax towards the end of track, where the members are able to harmonize as well as display their individual talents through the use of falsettos.

The last song in the album is “My Star” once again, another beautiful ballad number featuring All Christian, which basically consists of top stars such as members from Big Mama, 8eight, Someday, and 4men. If I were to describe the song using one word, it would be powerful. The song just emits emotion and raw talent. The song follows the gospel genre, not only in musical style but through its lyrical message as well.

Overall, I felt that Vibe did a great job with their comeback album. The duo never fails to bring out powerful and thought-out music. However, I feel that some people like me will not truly be able to appreciate the entire album as a whole and it consists entirely of ballads. In all honesty, it can get kind of boring. However, everyone must give this album a try; a couple of listens will allow one to find the hidden gems buried within each track.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet