Album Review: A Man Called God OST

A Man Called God OST
Released: 2010.05.03

01. 아무도 모르죠–가비엔제이
02. 나쁜 버릇–Zia
03. Rain man-장우혁(feat.강현정Of버블시스터즈)
04. 조금씩 지워가요–RUN
05. Say…-J(제이)
06. 나는 당신이 아프다-Kyle&우성
07. 가지 말아요–Kyle
08. 상처–안젤로(feat.박승화of유리상자)
09. 나쁜 버릇 Guitar ver.
10. God of Sun (Main Theme)
11. Hero
12. Going to Battlefield
13. a Love (Love theme)
14. Chaos
15. Hawaiian Love
16. God of Sun (Slow Ver.)
17. God of Sun – Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra (true sound)


“A Man Called God” is about a man who gains powers similar to a god. As a child, he loses his parents and gets adopted by American parents. He then returns to Korea to exact revenge on the murderer of his father.

The album starts out strongly with the vocals of Gavy NJ. Their track “아무도 모르죠” showcases each members’ vocals while fitting in well with the intense theme of the drama. Along with that, the soft rap corresponded well with the singing. Besides the talented group Gavy NJ lending their vocals for the OST, soloist Zia also gracefully belts out her track, “나쁜 버릇.”

“Rain Man”, sung by Jang Woo Hyuk and Bubble Sister’s Kang Hyun Jung, is an upbeat track, illustrating a rap jazz feel. On the other hand, Run, who had made a comeback in late 2009 with a new image, returns this year with what he sings best: his heartwarming ballads. He and singer J sing “조금씩 지워가요” and “Say…” respectively, both doing an amazing job with exerting the emotions of the lyrics. Following J, Kyle and Woo Sung chant to a lively track, “나는 당신이 아프다”. The 7th track of the album also features Kyle’s vocals, where he shows another side of his singing abilities and blows away the listener with a haunting song. The last track, vocal-wise, is sung by Angelo featuring Park Seung Hwa of Yurisangja. It is the perfect vocal track to end the album.

The last nine tracks of the soundtrack should not be dismissed however. Though most people ignore or do not bother with them, I have to say that if you want a feel of the drama, you should listen to them. Tracks like “나쁜 버릇” (Guitar version) and the three different versions of the main theme song “God of Sun” are quite soothing. Overall, the soundtrack doesn’t disappoint.

Rating: 4/5

5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.

How does this article make you feel?