Album Review – BoA – Vol. 6 – Hurricane Venus

BoA – Vol. 6 – Hurricane Venus

Posted Image

01 GAME [MV]
02 Hurricane Venus [TITLE] [MV] [LIVE]

04 Stand By [LIVE]
05 M.E.P (My Electronic Piano)
07 Implode
09 Ordinary Day
10 Don’t Know What to Say
11 Romance [LIVE]

Purchase This Album

BoA finally releases her sixth Korean album, “Hurricane Venus.” This album is quite special and memorable not just for fans who have waited five years for BoA’s Korean comeback, but for the artist as well since it celebrates BoA’s ten year anniversary in the music industry. The album consists of eleven brand new tracks – two composed and penned by the artist herself as well as two others which she wrote the lyrics to.


The first song and music video released from the album, “GAME” was composed by Jinu (hitchhiker) who is also responsible for SNSD’s “Show Show Show” and Brown Eyed Girls’ “Abracadabra.” Not too big of a fan of “Show Show Show,” and “GAME” for some reason gave off a similar sound. It also reminded me of BoA’s “Addiction.” “GAME” is something I wouldn’t enjoy on first listen, but it definitely grew on me. I loved her strong vocals and the heavy beats that supplemented it.

02 Hurricane Venus

The title track of the album, “Hurricane Album” is an upbeat electronica based dance number reminiscent of her past American singles, “Energetic” and “Crazy About.” The funky engrish lyrics (Electronic Manic Supersonic Bionic Energy) also reminded me of SHINee’s “Ring Ding Dong” and “Lucifer.” BoA co-penned the lyrics to this Kenzie composed number. It’s not their first time working together (as they have “MOTO” under their belts), and the collaboration of the two has not failed. Initially, I wasn’t too fond of the actual phrase “Hurricane Venus,” but I guess it grows on you. This is a very mainstream track, so I think K-pop fans will get a kick out of this.

03 Dangerous

When I first heard this song, I was thinking YES! another dance track. I really enjoyed BoA’s American singles, and this song has the same style, tone, beats, etc. Not surprised since “Dangerous” was composed by Thomas Troelsen who I think took part in BoA’s American debut album.

04 옆 사람 (Stand By)

“Stand By” is apparently a gift from veteran musician Kim Dong Ryul. To be honest, the song is too generic and lackluster. Also, I think her lives of this song sounded better than the recorded version.

05 M.E.P (My Electronic Piano)

This has got to be one of my favorite tracks off the album. “M.E.P” is a beautiful medium tempo number that seems all but a fantasy. Composed by the famous Kenzie, this song accentuates BoA’s vocals, and showcases her true potential. Great number – definitely will be played on repeat.

06 Let Me

“Let Me” is another dance track, but this one is extra special since it was composed and penned by BoA herself. I think this is her first dance track that she composed? – and I must say that it doesn’t disappoint. The verses are probably the catchiest segment of the song. BoA’s vocals are once again steady and bold.

07 한별 (Implode)

Even before the album release, “Implode” garnered the interests of many fans since it was composed and penned by Kim Jong Wan (vocalist, guitarist, and keyboardist) of indie band, Nell. On first listen, you can tell this is a Nell number. The mellow piano and guitar arrangements followed by BoA and Kim Jong Wan’s calm yet emotional singing make it a memorable number.

08 Adrenaline

“Adrenaline” is another dance number, but the beginning reminds me of another track, though I can’t seem to pinpoint it.

09 하루하루 (Ordinary Day)

This is the second track BoA composed and penned for the album. Unlike her past albums, I feel that her ballads were really strong, and I can’t seem to emphasize this enough. “Ordinary Day” I feel, is a great example of such a ballad. Even with the simple arrangements, this medium-tempo ballad just exudes emotions and is just powerful – reminds me of her debut days for some reason.

10 Don’t Know What To Say

Another ballad. Another beautiful song – Beautiful chorus, beautiful piano arrangements, beautiful voice.

11 로망스 (Romance)

The last track of the long awaited album – BoA ends it with “Romance,” a jazzy number very different from her usual styles. It has a Christmas-y feel to it (ie. The Christmas Song). Although BoA doesn’t have the best voice suited for jazz music, I applaud her for trying. It’s not bad, but not great. I think K-pop listeners should give it a try, however.

In conclusion, I am happy with the result of her new album. There was a variety of both dance and ballad numbers, most of which were enjoyable. Both fans and non-fans alike should definitely take a listen to BoA’s new album.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?