Album Review – Shin Hye Sung – Best Album – The Cycle 2005-2009

Shin Hye Sung – Best Album – The Cycle 2005-2009

Posted Image

02 If You Love Me
03 Similar Thoughts (Vol. 1) [MV]
04 Buen Camino (feat. Kang Suji) (Vol. 1)
05 Island (Vol. 2)
06 First Person (Vol. 2) [MV]
07 The First Day We Met (Vol. 2)
08 Because It’s You (Vol. 3 Side 1) [MV]
09 A Good Day to Love (Duet. Lee Honey) (Vol. 3 Side 1)
10 Love Actually (feat. Vink) (Vol. 3 Side 1)
11 Even If It’s a Lie (Vol. 3 Side 2)
12 Why Did You Call On the Phone (Vol. 3 Side 2) [MV]
13 I’m Dying… (Vol. 3 Side 2)
14 Love Letter (Vol. 3 Side 2)
15 It’s You (That Man That Woman Story – 2008) [MV]
16 Echo (That Man That Woman Story – 2008)
17 Lover (All Star – 2007)

Purchase This Album

Shinhwa member, Shin Hye Sung, who has released four solo albums along with various soundtracks and project albums, has returned this year with his best album titled “The Cycle 2005-2009.” It consists of fifteen hit songs in addition to two new tracks, “Ex-Mind” and “If You Love Me.”

The album starts off with “EX-MIND,” a pop rock number with funky beats and a catchy melody. Shin Hye Sung’s vocals are very delicate yet very emotional as he sings about his confused feelings for a girl. This is a great introduction to what he has in store for fans.

The next song is “If You Love Me,” the other new track in this album. Unlike the former song, this one is a medium-tempo ballad with beautiful keyboard and string arrangements. Shin Hye Sung’s voice once again is unfailing. However, in comparison to “EX-MIND,” this song wasn’t as intriguing to the ear.

The rest of the songs are played in chronological order of official album release, ending with three songs from his special albums. Songs from his first solo album include title track, “Similar Thoughts” and a personal favorite of mine, “Buen Camino.” The latter track incorporates Spanish elements into the song, both in musical composition and phrases. This beautiful duet number with Kang Suji is a must listen.

The next three tracks are from Shin Hye Sung’s second album. Apart from the title track, “First Person,” I took a liking to “Island,” one of the songs that caught my ear on first listen when the artist released his sophomore album back in 2007. “Island” is a ballad number that brings forth a bright and clear mood. Shin Hye Sung’s vocals are once again very smooth and gorgeous.

The album continues with seven tracks from part one and two of his third album. Songs include popular duet track, “A Good Day to Love” featuring former Miss Korea, Honey Lee and title track, “Because of You.” These songs are great, but I wish the album included my favorite Shin Hye Sung song, “Awaken” from part one of his third album. This powerful alternative rock number was different from any of his other songs, so it would have been a great contribution to this album. Oh wells.

The last three songs are from his special project albums released in 2007 and 2008 respectively. “It’s You” and “Echo” are personal favorites of mine, from his duet album with respected singer songwriter, Lyn. With the former song, fans have the chance to hear beautiful harmonization and chemistry between the two artists.

The Cycle 2005-2009” is definitely a must buy album for fans and non-fans of Shin Hye Sung who haven’t had the chance to buy the artist’s albums. It has all of his hit songs (minus “Awaken” in my opinion) all in one album, so what are you waiting for?


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?