[Album Review] Chae Dong Ha – D Day

Chae Dong Ha – D Day

Posted Image

01 Vanilla Sky
02 Day is Crazy [MV] [LIVE]
03 My Side
04 Goodbye Fool
05 Vanilla Sky INST

Purchase This Album

Former SG Wannabe member, Chae Dong Ha returns with a new mini-album titled, “D Day” after almost a year since his second album release. This time around, the singer comes before fans with an upgraded image – he takes part in producing, composing, and penning his songs, showing yet another side of him. “D Day” consists of four new tracks plus an instrumental.

01 Vanilla Sky
The album begins with an upbeat pop rock number, “Vanilla Sky.” On first listen, fans might assume that the song holds happy-go-lucky lyrics due to what may seem to be a cheerful melody. However, with careful listening, they will realize that “Vanilla Sky” is actually a sad song about missing and thanking an ex-lover. In terms of song, I really enjoyed the lively string, piano, and drum arrangements. There seemed to be great harmony between them and Chae’s soft, yet strong vocals.

02 Day is Crazy
The next song is the title track, “Day Is Crazy,” composed and penned by the singer himself with the help of Kwon Sung Min. This emotional ballad is about missing a past lover so much to the extent of going crazy. I felt that the singer’s “whispering” vocals in the verses and his explosive singing in the chorus-line really helped the depressing lyrics get across.

03 My Side
The third song “My Side” is an upbeat ballad number with a SG Wannabe tinge to it. It is about being happy and thankful for a never-ending love relationship with a girl. The song isn’t bad, but I wish the singer experimented with different genres.

04 Goodbye Fool
It seems that my wish was heard through my favorite track of the album, “Goodbye Fool.” This song kind of reminded me of Kim Ah Joong’s “Maria” from her movie 200 Pound Beauty, which I had no problem with, since I loved the latter song as well. This pop rock number showed that Chae Dong Ha has the talents to go beyond his usual ballads. What’s even better – the singer took part in writing the lyrics for this track!

Overall, I must admit that Chae Dong Ha has no problems with singing – I mean he was in SG Wannabe after all! I guess my main concern was whether the songs would all sound similar. With only four new tracks, I guess it wasn’t that difficult to add variety. With the help of “Vanilla Sky” and “Goodbye Fool,” Chae was able to show his “rock” sides, breaking from his usual R&B/ballad songs. I guess I would recommend this album to fans of Korean-style ballads with a twist!


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.

2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet