Soompi Gayo Awards [Revisited] - Top 10 K-Pop Songs of 2005

In celebrating our sixth year of the annual Soompi Gayo Awards, we are looking back the past top 10 songs from each year. With K-Pop growing in popularity around the world and evolving every year, it is nice to see what kinds of trends brought us to where we are today.

Our year end awards use the results from our weekly Soompi Music Charts. They take into account sales, air plays and many other factors to give an accurate look at how popular a song really is. 

Since it was just six years ago, there are a lot of easily recognizable names. Solo ballads were very popular and took many spots on the chart. It would be later in 2007 when the “Idol Takeover” begins.

Here is the original news post from 2005 and the nominees topic. 2006’s top 10 video will be released soon.

10. MC The Max – 행복하지 말아요 (Don’t Be Happy)
9. Jewelry – Superstar
8. Lee Ssang – 내가 웃는 게 아니야 (I Am Not Laughing)
7. Jang Woo Hyuk – 지지 않는 태양 (The Sun That Doesn’t Set)
6. MC Mong (feat. Kim Tae Woo) – I Love You, Oh Thank You
5. Sung Shi Kyung – 잘 지내나요 (Take Care)
4. Kim Jong Kook – 사랑스러워 (Loveable)
3. Epik High – Fly
2. Buzz – 겁쟁이 (Coward)
1. Yoon Do Hyun – 사랑했나 봐 (Seems to fall in love)

How many of the songs do you recognize?

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles