Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2012 – January Week 3

Happy Lunar New Year to all our readers!

There was a lot of movement on the chart this week. T-Ara’s “Lovey Dovey” is our new No. 1 song, replacing IU’s 4-week long reign with “You And I.” “Lovey Dovey” wins with a very high score of 983, just 17 points shy of a perfect 1000. This is also T-Ara’s third straight No. 1 song on our chart and their second chart topping hit in five weeks. “Cry Cry” was No. 1 a little bit over a month ago. Not to mention their mega hit “Roly Poly” was crowned our 2011 Song Of The Year.  It is safe to say that T-Ara has risen to become one of Korea’s top girl groups now.

The No. 2 song this week is brand new to the top 10. Hip-hop group Dynamic Duo’s latest hit “Without You” debuted at No. 15 last week and made a big 13-spot jump to No. 2 this week. This is the highest chart position of any songs Dynamic Duo has released. Dynamic Duo is one of the very few hip-hop groups that maintain an underground sound on their music, yet they always crossover to mainstream pop charts. “Without You” is a very listener friendly song, perhaps the most mainstream hit you’ll ever hear from Dynamic Duo. It is about a man missing the lover who has just left him.

Another new song in the top five is rising boy band Teen Top’s “Crazy, also making a 13-spot jump this week to No. 4. Teaming up with hit maker Brave Brothers for the first time, “Crazy” becomes the group’s first top five hit. This song is a club number with sophisticated beats and lyrics about a guy wanting to hold onto his girlfriend. The emotional vocals and dynamic rap is expected to capture fans’ interests.

There are two more new songs in the bottom of the top 10 this week. At No. 9, Korea’s longest running mixed group Koyote returns to the top 10 with “Repeat The Same Words. Koyote also works with Brave Brothers for the first time on this song. The trendy electronic sounds along with Koyote’s own color make this song very danceable.

At No. 10, it is the first pre-released single from veteran songwriter/producer Yoon Il Sang 21st anniversary special album. Underground folk rock group 10cm remade “Sorrow” in which Yoon Il Sang wrote for Cool in 1998. It was the title song on Cool’s 4th album. 14 years later today 10cm remade this song. Cool’s version is full of their trademark fun summer sound. The new version by 10cm is totally different as the song transform to an acoustic folk ballad. Watch out for more pre-released singles on this album by different singers.


SOOMPI CHART for 2012, Month 1, Week 3

1. (+4) T-Ara – Lovey Dovey ***1st Week @ No. 1***
Score: 983
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung
Album: T-Ara mini-album Vol. 5 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


2. (+13) Dynamic Duo – 거기서거기 (Without You)
Score: 865
Genre: Hip-Hop

Music: Dynamic Duo / Lyrics: Dynamic Duo
Album: Dynamic Duo Vol. 6 – Digilog 2/2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


3. (-2) IU – 너랑 나 (You And I)
Score: 778
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Lee Min Soo / Lyrics: Kim Ina
Album: IU Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


4. (+13) Teen Top – 미치겠어 (Crazy)
Score: 776
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Brave Brothers / Lyrics: Brave Brothers
Album: Teen Top Mini Album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


5. (+1) Lee Hyun – 너니까 (Because You Are You)
Score: 768
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Hitman Bang / Lyrics: Hitman Bang
Album: Lee Hyun Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


6. (-4) Trouble Maker – Trouble Maker
Score: 684
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado
Album: Trouble Maker mini-album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


7. (-4) Davichi & T-Ara – 우리 사랑했잖아 (We Were In Love)
Score: 651
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Cho Young Soo / Lyrics: K Smith
Album: T-Ara mini-album Vol. 5 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


8. (-4) A Pink – My My
Score: 648
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado
Album: Apink mini-album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


9. (+4) Koyote – 했던 말 또 하고 (Repeat The Same Words)
Score: 577
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Brave Brothers / Lyrics: Brave Brothers
Album: Koyote Single Album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


10. (+15) 10cm – 애상 (Sorrow)
Score: 572
Genre: Folk

Music: Yoon Il Sang / Lyrics: Lee Seung Ho
Album: Yoon Il Sang 21st (digital single) Part 1
Watch: MV


Rank Artist Song Score
11 Fat Cat (+24) 예쁜게 다니 (Is Being Pretty Everything) 532
12 Zi-A (-4) 속상해서 (술 한잔 해요 Part 2) (Depressed (Have A Drink Part 2)) 516
13 MBLAQ (new) 전쟁이야 (This Is War) 508
14 Wanted (new) Like You (feat. IU) 405
15 Wonder Girls (-6) Be My Baby 404
16 Ali (-4) 촌스럽게 굴지 마 (Don’t Act Countrified) 399
17 Huh Gak & LE (-7) 그 노래를 틀때마다 (Every Time That Song Is Turned On) 399
18 NS Yoon G (+21) 미녀가 된 이유 (The Reason I Became A Witch) 348
19 Electroboys (-12) Ma Boy 2 (feat. Sistar Hyo Rin) 332
20 Young Joon (Brown Eyed Soul) (-9) 꽃보다 그대가 (You Are Prettier Than The Flowers (feat. Simon D)) 330
21 Noel (-2) 살기 위해서 (Just To Live) 317
22 Boy Friend (-4) 내가 갈게 (I’ll Be There) 300
23 Sunny Hill (new) 베짱이 찬가 (The Grasshopper Song) 258
24 Monday Kiz (-2) 미행 (Follow) 248
25 Dong Hae & Eun Hyuk (Super Junior) (-11) 떴다 오빠 (Oppa Oppa) 246
26 Bobby Kim (new) 너만이 (Only You) 233
27 Park Jae Bum (-11) 별 (Star) 222
28 Rainbow Pixie (new) 호이 호이 (Hoi Hoi) 216
29 SNSD (-6) The Boys 215
30 J-Cera (new) 사랑시 고백구 행복동 (Love City Confession District Happiness Town) 188
31 Nine Muses (new) 뉴스 (News) 170
32 Kim Yeon Woo (-8) 더 가까이 (Little Bit Closer) 156
33 Orange Caramel (-13) Funny Hunny 145
34 Joosuc (-13) Sun & Star (feat. Lim Jung Hee) 136
35 Yoon Jong Shin (+2) 느낌Good (Feel Good (feat. Jang Jae In)) 130
36 F.I.X (-3) 말하지마 (Don’t Say) 128
37 Lee Young Hyun (Big Mama) (-8) 이별사랑 (Love, Break Up) 122
38 Lee Seung Ki (-8) 친구잖아 (We’re Friends) 117
39 Jea (-7) 그대 바보 (You Fool) 103
40 Spica (new) 독하게 (Potently) 101
41 U-Kiss (-15) 평생 (For Kiss Me) 76
42 Piggy Dolls (new) 사랑이 뭐길래 (Feat. Simon D) (What Is Love) 75
43 Infinite (-16) 하얀 고백 (Lately) 67
44 Chaos (+4) 그녀가 온다 (She Is Coming) 56
45 Secret (-9) 사랑은 MOVE (Love Move) 55
46 Yim Jae Bum (-6) 사랑..그 놈 (Love..That Thing) 52
47 Lim Jung Hee (-3) 필라멘트 (Filament) 49
48 Kim Won Joo (4men) (new) 겨울연가 (Winter Sonata (feat. Mi)) 46
49 Shin Hye Sung (-6) 돌아와줘 (Come Back To Me) 44
50 Shin Gun & Taesabiae (new) 이 또한 지나 가리라 (This Too Shall Pass) 39




 愛-Say 사진 (Picture)     
Genre: Acoustic Ballad
External from soompi image 
Album: 愛-Say digital single “Picture”
Listen To: Full Song
Comment: Rookie female duo, Ae-Say released their first digital single, “Picture” this year. Their name was formed by combining the Chinese character for “love” and the English word for “to say.” Thus, as the name suggests, the duo hopes to relay messages of love to those who listen to their songs. The title song is “Picture,” a remake of hit single of the same title sung by male duo Dragonfly in 2002. Ae-Say reinterprets this song with female vocals. This song is a medium-tempo number with a simple melody line. The acoustic arrangements accompanied by clear vocals give this song new color.  (credits to motoway065 for translations)


About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings.  It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplays of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop.  Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%
GAON Music Chart – 15%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Naver, Daum) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 15%    
SBS (Inky Gayo Take 7 + voting list) – 10%
MBC Inky Top 100 Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10%
MNet Chart – 10%

Thanks to Mardi09 for helping on this week’s internet chart research.