Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2012 – February Week 3

The female chart dominance is finally over this week, and it takes two big name male artists to take down T-Ara’s “Lovey Dovey,” which fell to No. 3 this week. In one of the closest battle on our chart ever, FT Island’s “Severely” won a nail biter against Se7en’s “When I Can’t Sing” by a single point (939 Vs 938). The two songs are very close in all our chart sources with FT Island having an edge on airplay that enabled them to take this win. This victory is particularly sweet for male artists as it temporary ends the female chart dominance. FT Island becomes the first male artist to hit the top on our chart since Super Junior’s “Mr. Simple” in week 4 of August last year. That is a span of five and a half months, probably the longest drought by any K-pop male artists ever. The last time two male acts were 1-2 in the chart also involved FT Island. We have to go back to June Week 3 of last year when Beast’s “Fiction” won over FT Island’s “Hello Hello”.

There are three new songs in the top 10 this week. Brown Eyed Girls rapper Miryo’s first solo hit “Dirty” moves up 16 spots to No. 7 this week. This song is coming from Miryo’s mini-album “Miryo aka Johoney.” Miryo is the third BEG member (Narsha, Ga In) to release her solo album. The song holds lyrics about feeling betrayed due to love. It is of the pop rock genre with playful lyrics about revenge. Fans have a chance to hear Miryo’s singing as well as her usual rapping in this song.

At No. 8, sophomore hip-hop boy group Block B scores their first ever top 10 hit “Nanrina,” up from No. 28 last week. This is the title song from Block B’s second mini-album “Welcome To The Block.” The group’s leader ZICO composed and penned “Nanrina”. With their rising popularity, Block B is a group to watch out in 2012.

The last new song in the top 10 at No. 9 is K.Will’s “I Hate Myself.” Composed by hit maker Kim Do Hoon, “I Hate Myself” is about not being able to live normally after a breakup. This song is a preview single from K.Will’s thrid mini-album scheduled to release next week. We should see the mini-album title song “I Need You” on the chart pretty soon.


SOOMPI CHART for 2012, Month 2, Week 3

1. (+5) FT Island – 지독하게 (Severely) ***1st Week @ No. 1***
Score: 939
Genre: Pop Rock

Music: Kim Do Hoon, Lee Sang Ho / Lyrics: Han Sung Ho
Album: FT Island mini-album “Grown Up” | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


2. (+6) Se7en – 내가 노래를 못해도 (When I Can’t Sing)
Score: 938
Genre: R&B Ballad

Music: Park Jin Young / Lyrics: Park Jin Young
Album: Se7en New Mini Album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


3. (-2) T-Ara – Lovey Dovey
Score: 792
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung
Album: T-Ara mini-album Vol. 5 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


4. (-1) Sunny Hill – 베짱이 찬가 (The Grasshopper Song)
Score: 736
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Lee Min Soo / Lyrics: Kim Ina
Album: Sunny Hill Maxi Single Album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


5. (-3) MBLAQ – 전쟁이야 (This Is War)
Score: 693
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: / Lyrics:
Album: MBLAQ Mini Album Vol. 4 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


6. (-2) Teen Top – 미치겠어 (Crazy)
Score: 656
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Brave Brothers / Lyrics: Brave Brothers
Album: Teen Top Mini Album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


7. (+16) Miryo – Dirty
Score: 598
Genre: Hip-Hop

Music: / Lyrics:
Album: MIRYO aka JOHONEY | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


8. (+20) Block. B – 난리나 (Nanrina)
Score: 546
Genre: Hip-Hop

Music: ZICO, Delly Boi / Lyrics: ZICO, Park Kyung
Album: Block B Mini Album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


9. (+6) K.Will – 내가 싫다 (I Hate Myself)
Score: 529
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Kim Do Hoon / Lyrics: Min Yeon Jae
Album: K.Will Mini Album Vol. 3 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


10. (-5) Beast – 이럴 줄 알았어 (I Knew This Would Happen)
Score: 506
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Rado / Lyrics: Rado, Yong Joon Hyung
Album: Beast digital single “I Knew This Would Happen”
Watch: MV


Rank Artist Song Score
11 Dal★shabet (-4) Hit U (feat. Bigtone) 455
12 Lyn (+1) 시간을 거슬러 (Back In Time) 450
13 Yong Joon Hyung (Beast) (+18) 너 없이 사는 것도 (Living Without You) 430
14 Davichi (new) 생각날거야 (Will Think Of You) 428
15 Mario (new) 문자 (Text Message (feat. Baek Ji Young)) 371
16 10cm (-4) 애상 (Sorrow) 343
17 Trouble Maker (-8) Trouble Maker 338
18 Na Yoon Kwon (new) 겁이 나서 (Because I Got Scared (feat. Baek Ji Young)) 336
19 Brian (-5) 너 따윈 버리고 (Let This Die (feat. Tiger JK)) 320
20 Hyo Rin (Sistar) (-4) 널 사랑하겠어 (I Choose To Love You) 309
21 Rainbow Pixie (-1) 호이 호이 (Hoi Hoi) 295
22 IU (-12) 너랑 나 (You And I) 291
23 B.A.P (+7) Warrior 287
24 Wheesung (-3) 눈물길 (Road Of Tears) 285
25 Park Jae Bum (new) Know Your Name (feat. Dok2) 247
26 Davichi & T-Ara (-9) 우리 사랑했잖아 (We Were In Love) 227
27 Dynamic Duo (-16) 거기서거기 (Without You) 203
28 Lee Hyun (-10) 너니까 (Because You Are You) 196
29 Jang Jae In (new) 다른 누구도 아닌 너에게 (None Other Than You) 190
30 LEDApple (new) Time Is Up 172
31 J-Cera (-12) 사랑시 고백구 행복동 (Love City Confession District Happiness Town) 169
32 Boy Friend (-3) 내가 갈게 (I’ll Be There) 168
33 Ailee (new) Heaven 166
34 Namolla Family JW (-7) 사랑해 그 거짓말 같은 (I Love You Like That Lie (feat. Tae In)) 149
35 Monday Kiz (new) 그림자 (Shadow) 146
36 Heora (-1) 달빛이 지고 (Under The Moonlight) 137
37 NS Yoon G (-13) 미녀가 된 이유 (The Reason I Became A Witch) 133
38 Sweet Sorrow (new) VIVA (feat. Lee Sora) 128
39 Koyote (-14) 했던 말 또 하고 (Repeat The Same Words) 119
40 Noel (-2) 살기 위해서 (Just To Live) 118
41 Buga Kingz (new) Don’t Go 113
42 Yiruma, Shin Yong Jae, Mi, Bigtone (-20) Kiss The Rain 110
43 Suzy (new) You’re My Star 109
44 Park Jin Young (-11) Falling 108
45 Fat Cat (-8) 예쁜게 다니 (Is Being Pretty Everything) 93
46 Wanted (-7) 너에게로 간다 (Going To You) 84
47 Nine Muses (-15) 뉴스 (News) 82
48 DJ Clazzi (new) Love & Hate (with Yi Seung Yul, MYK) 80
49 Kim Kyung Ho (new) 하지 못했던 이야기 (The Unexpected Story) 78
50 SNSD (-7) The Boys 72




Turbo – 회상 (Reminiscence/December)
Genre: Pop Ballad
External from soompi image
Album: Turbo Vol. 3 (1997) Track 3
Watch: MV
Comment: We continue our coverage on veteran songwriter Yoon Il Sang’s upcoming 20th anniversary album. The second pre-released single is from Super Junior KRY’s “Reminiscence.” The original version of this song is sung by Turbo and was the title song of their third album in 1997. 

Turbo was a prominent duo from the old school K-pop era. Unlike many of the acts those days who were one-dimensional in their music, Turbo pleased fans with many different genres. All of their albums had sold over one million copies. Fans probably know that Kim Jong Kook was one of the members. The other Turbo member was Kim Jong Nam for the first two albums and then Mikey replaced him from the third album onward. “Reminiscence (December)” was the first hit song that Kim Jong Kook and Mikey performed together and was a hit song from late 1997 to early 1998. Compare this original version to Super Junior KRY’s new version to see which one you like better.


About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplays of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%
GAON Music Chart – 15%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Naver, Daum) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 15%   
SBS (Inky Gayo Take 7 + voting list) – 10%
MBC Inky Top 100 Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10%
MNet Chart – 10%

Thanks to Mardi09 for helping on this week’s internet chart research.