Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2012 – June Week 5

What a battle for No. 1 between the top two songs this week! f(x)’s “Electric Shock” out dueled last week’s champion Wonder Girls’ “Like This” by the tiniest margin of a single point (967 Vs 966) to become our new No. 1 song. The two songs are very even on every chart source, with f(x) slightly ahead on five sources and Wonder Girls on three sources. That proves to be the difference. “Electric Shock” just debuted at No. 9 last week. We thought it would have taken another week to reach the top, but the song made a big jump just enough to win this week. These 2 songs will continue to battle for the top spot next week.

This is not the first time this year that the top two songs are separated by only one point. The last time it happened was on February Week 3 when FT Island’s “Severely” edged Seven’s “When I Can’t Sing”.

A third song would have joined this battle is at a distant third. Big Bang’s “Monster” moves up another two spots to No. 3. With Big Bang not actively promoting this song, it was not listed on some of our chart sources at all. Still, it is quite an accomplishment to be in the top three without promotions.

Only one new song is in the top 10 this week. At No. 10 Dal Shabet moves up four spots to the top 10 with “Mr. Bang Bang,” the title song from their first full length album. “Mr. Bang Bang” is a cool pop dance number with exciting beats. The lyrics are about a girl who confesses her love for a shy boy who can’t seem to express his love first.

This is the last music chart in the first half of 2012. We are going to release our half year top 10 list in the middle of next week. Are your favorite artists making the top 10? Stay tuned!

1. (+8) f(x) – Electric Shock ***1st Week @ No. 1***
Score: 967
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Joachim Vermeulen Windsant, Maarten Ten Hove, Willem Laseroms / Lyrics: Seo Ji Eum
Album: F(x) Mini Album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

2. (-1) Wonder Girls – Like This
Score: 966
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Park Jin Young / Lyrics: Park Jin Young
Album: Wonder Girls Mini Album – Wonder Party | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

3. (+2) Big Bang – Monster
Score: 711
Genre: R&B

Music: G Dragon, Choi Pil Kang / Lyrics: G Dragon, T.O.P
Album: Big Bang Special Edition – Still Alive | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

4. (+2) Hyungdon & Daejun – 안좋을때 들으면 더 안좋은 노래 (The Gloomy Song)
Score: 698
Genre: Hip-Hop

Music: / Lyrics:
Album: Gangster Rap Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

5. (-2) G.na – 2HOT
Score: 687
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Lee Hyun Seung, Kim Do Hoon / Lyrics: Choi Gap Won
Album: G.NA 3rd Mini Album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

6. (-4) Teen Top – To You
Score: 663
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Brave Brothers / Lyrics: Brave Brothers
Album: Teen Top Mini Album Vol. 3 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

7. (-3) Infinite – 추격자 (The Chaser)
Score: 614
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Han Jae Ho, Kim Seung Soo / Lyrics: Song Soo Yoon
Album: Infinite Mini Album – INFINITIZE | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

8. (-1) Baek Ji Young – Good Boy (feat. Yong Jun Hyung of Beast)
Score: 573
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Chance, Ichiro Suezawa / Lyrics: Chance, Ichiro Suezawa
Album: Baek Ji Young Mini Album – Good Boy | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

9. (-1) B1A4 – 잘자요 굿나잇 (Sleep Well Good Night)
Score: 551
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Jin Young / Lyrics: Jin Young, Baro
Album: The B1A4 Ignition | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

10. (+4) Dal★shabet – Mr. Bang Bang
Score: 486
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: E Tribe, Ahn Myung Won, E.D / Lyrics: E Tribe, Min Yeon Jae, Ahn Myung Won, E.D
Album: Dal★shabet Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV

Rank Artist Song Score
11 TaeTiSeo (–) Twinkle 402
12 Lee Hyun (new) 가슴이 시린 게 (My Heart Ache) 396
13 IU (-3) 하루 끝 (Every End Of The Day) 394
14 Shin Bora (+10) 그리워 운다 (Crying Of Longing) 385
15 Verbal Jint (–) 굿모닝 (Good Morning (feat. Kwon Jung Yeol of 10cm)) 365
16 Ulala Session (new) 굿바이데이 (Goodbye Day) 358
17 Younha (+20) 우린 달라졌을까 (with John Park) (Would We Have Changed) 329
18 Sistar (-6) 나혼자 (Alone) 303
19 Busker Busker (new) 정말로 사랑한다면 (If You Really Love Me) 300
20 Beast (-3) 미운사람 (Hateful Person) 290
21 A Pink (-8) Hush 286
22 After School (new) Flashback 281
23 Noel (new) 사랑이란면 (If It’s Love) 277
24 Juniel (+5) Illa Illa 259
25 Boy Friend (+19) Love Style 216
26 U-Kiss (-1) Believe 216
27 Kim Tae Woo (–) High High 204
28 Park Jung Hyun (new) 미안해 (I’m Sorry) 200
29 Lee Suk Hoon (+14) 연애의 시작 (Beginning Of Love) 195
30 Davichi (-8) 너라서 (Because It’s You) 194
31 10cm (new) Only U 193
32 A-JAX (+3) One 4 U 170
33 Brave Guys (-17) I 돈 Care (I Dun (Money) Care (feat. Seo Soo Min)) 168
34 Mighty Mouth (-16) 나쁜놈 (Bad Guy (feat. Soya)) 165
35 My Name (-1) Hello & Goodbye 164
36 K.Will (-17) 지금처럼 (We Never Go Alone) 150
37 Cross Gene (new) La Di Da Di 140
38 Hello Venus (-12) Venus 113
39 December (-6) She’s Gone 111
40 Hwa Yobi (-10) 난 이렇게 살아 (I Live Like This) 110
41 Boo Hwal (-3) 차갑다 (Cold) 107
42 Epitone Project (-14) 새벽녘 (The Dawn) 100
43 Lee Ssang (-12) 너에게 배운다 (My Love) 98
44 M.I.B (+1) 나만 힘들게 (It’s Only Hard For Me) 97
45 Kim So Jung (new) 땀인지 눈물인지 (Sweat Or Tears) 95
46 Wheesung & Lee Seung Woo (-23) 감기라도 걸릴까 (Should I Catch The Flu?) 87
47 JJ Project (–) Bounce 86
48 2BiC (new) Love Again (feat. Ailee) 76
49 Primary (-17) 입장정리 (Entry Clearance (feat. Choiza, Simon D)) 69
50 Bobby Kim (new) 꿈에 (In Dream) 64


In this segment, we go back in time to re-visit charts of the same week in past years. The Soompi Music Chart began in January 2005. At first we had only 20 songs and later expanded to 50 songs.

Not every June has five weeks and when I am looking for songs from past years’ charts, I just treat it as the last week of June, whether it is week 4 or week 5. Nevertheless, the song that I want to cover did come from a June week 5 in 2007.

Yangpa has been in the music industry for a long time. Debuting as a teenager in 1996, she released her first three albums from 1996 to 1999. Then she went aboard to study in the famous Berkeley School Of Music. After she came back to Korea she released her fourth album in 2001. Due to a contract dispute with her record company, she did not come out to perform and then went on a lengthy hiatus. It wasn’t until six years later in 2007 that she released her fifth album “The Windows Of My Soul.” The long layoff doesn’t affect her a bit as the title song “Love…What Is That?” written by hitmaker Park Geun Tae, spent four weeks on top of our chart. June Week 5 of 2007 was the third week this song was on top. Known for her emotional vocal, “Love…What Is That” seems to be a tailor-made song to fit Yangpa’s voice. This song went on to become one of the most popular songs in 2007. In my opinion, it was also one of the best ballad songs by a female soloist in the last decade.

Unlike other K-Pop artists these days, Yangpa doesn’t release new songs very often. She is looking for new concepts on each album. She released a mini-album earlier this year and just recently, she participated in the OST of the drama “A Gentleman’s Dignity” with the song “Love…What To Do”. From the title, it is very similar to “Love…What Is That” but the melody is totally different.

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplays of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%

GAON Music Chart – 15%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Naver, Daum) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 15%   
SBS (Inky Gayo Take 7 + voting list) – 10%
MBC Plus “Show Champion” M Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10% 
MNet M!Countdown Chart – 10%

Thanks to Mardi09 for helping on this week’s internet chart research.

How does this article make you feel?