Flashback Friday: Original Rock Band – BUZZ

Do we have any Soompiers out there who remember dial-up internet and having to listen to this to get to spazz out on that strange thing called the Internet with other fangirls and fanboys? “Flashback Friday” will feature artists from days of yore when K-Pop wasn’t so polished but still just as shiny. 

Today’s Flashback Friday features BUZZ – one of the first rock bands to come to prominence in South Korea and the precursor to current idol rock bands F.T. Island and CNBLUE with their flower boy looks and popular appeal.

In 2003, under Loen Entertainment, Buzz debuted with their first full-length album “Morning of Buzz” and with five members: Min Kyung Hoon, Son Sung Hee, Kim Ye Jun, Shin Joon Ki, and Yoon Woo Hyun. Min Kyung Hoon was immediately popular with fans for his baby-face and soulful, sincere vocals. The band’s lovelorn ballads such as title track “Maybe / Possibly. . .” and single “Monologue” were immediate hits. In “Maybe/Possibly . . .,” Min Kyung Hoon asks a woman not to go back to a past partner who had broken her heart. In “Monologue,” Min Kyung Hoon asks a lover not to date another person like him as he was never good enough. In 2004, Buzz released a single “Poor/Wretched Love.”

In 2005, Buzz released their second full-length album “Effect,” and their title track “Coward” and single “Thorn” were again well-received by critics and fans. Later that year, Buzz released a single “Love is What the Heart Dictates.”

In 2006, Buzz released their third full-length album “Perfect,” and the band reached an even higher level of success and acclaim with their title track “Don’t Know Men” and singles “My Love (And)” and “My Darling (End).” Later that year, Buzz released a third single album with “Don’t Cry” and “Leave.”

However, by 2007, the band was near its end. In June 2007, Buzz released a fourth single called “Love is What the Heart Dictates (Part. 2),” and, in December 2007, Buzz released a special edition of its debut album “Morning of Buzz (Music 2.0 Edition).” Throughout the year, Son Sung Hee, Kim Ye Jun, Shin Joon Ki, and Yoon Woo Hyun left to serve their mandatory military service terms. The members said that Buzz would be reunited after they finished their military service with a new vocalist. As the youngest member, 23 years old at the time, Min Kyung Hoon decided to leave the band and, in December, released his first solo album “Im-pres-sive.”

In 2010, Buzz returned with new vocalist Na Do Kyun and original member Yoon Woo Hyun, new album “Fuzz-Buzz,” and title track “I Hate Women (feat. Venny).” Later, however, Na Do Kyun left the band and became a member of idol group HISTORY under LOEN Entertainment. In 2012, Buzz came back with a second new vocalist Min Dae Hong and original member Yoon Woo Hyun, and a new digital single album “Buzz Return” with title track “My Heart Cries.” 

Click through the gallery to enjoy BUZZ’s music! 

BUZZ – “Don’t Know Men” [Part 1]

BUZZ – “My Love (And)” [Part 2]

BUZZ – “Maybe / Possibly . . .”

BUZZ – “My Darling”

BUZZ – “Monologue” 

BUZZ – “Coward” 

BUZZ – “Thorn” 

BUZZ – “I Hate Women” 

BUZZ – “Love is What the Heart Dictates” [Part 1]

BUZZ – “Love is What the Heart Dictates (Part. 2)” 

How does this article make you feel?