Rock Legends Deulgukhwa Release Teaser for Comeback After 27 Years

Legendary rock band Deulgukhwa (A Wild Chrysanthemum) (Twitter, Facebook) announced via their Facebook page on November 25 that they will be coming back with a full album after 27 years. 

On December 3 at midnight, they will release the track “Walk and Walk” and then on December 6, they will release a 2-CD full album, “Deulgukhwa,” with 19 tracks containing 7 new songs and 12 remakes.

The original members of Korea’s legendary rock band Deulgukhwa, Jeon In Kwon (vocals), Choi Sung Won (bass and vocals) and Joo Chan Kwon (drums and vocals, deceased) came together to record this album. This album is a posthumous release for Joo Chan Kwon as he passed away in October.

Deulgukhwa debuted in 1985 with their first album “Deulgukhwa.” Despite being an underground band, they possessed both great musicality and popular appeal, and received overwhelming support from critics and the public alike. The album spawned hits such as “Parade,” “That’s Only My World” and “The Train to The World.” Songs such as “Please,” “Oh, You’re a Beautiful Lady” and “Easily” on their following album in 1986, “You and I,” showed that Deulgukhwa was here to stay.

“Deulgukhwa” has consistently ranked in “Korea’s 100 Greatest Pop Albums” since the annual survey began in 1998. Their first album stands at number 1, as of the 2012 ranking, which surveys 21 music experts.

Deulgukhwa chose their new album title to be “Deulgukhwa,” the same as their first album title, to show that their music has retained the same quality after 27 years. The album combines Jeon In Kwon’s unchanging energy and sorrow overflowing in his soulful voice, Choi Sung Won’s subtle bass and vocals, and Joo Chan Kwon’s sure drumming.

The video teaser for Deulgukhwa’s comeback album was released on LOEN Music’s YouTube channel as well as on Deulgukhwa’s official Facebook page. Set against a black background, white chrysanthemums blooms while the band’s name appears on screen, along with the album’s release date, December 6. The 30-second teaser hints at what the new album will sound like, and simple and effective.

As part of promotions of the rock band’s comeback, they have also been running a “Reply Deulgukhwa” series, in which various stars and musicians talk about their memories with Deulgukhwa’s music. Singer Ga In, singer-songwriter Yoo Hee Yeol, comedians Yoo Jae Suk and Shin Dong Yup and actor Hwang Jung Min have all been interviewed. These interviews can be watched via Deulgukhwa’s Facebook page.

Deulgukhwa reunited in 2012 after fifteen years with its original members, to the cheers of music fans. They have since held concerts and tours, headlining the “Incheon Pentaport Rock Festival” and the “Jisan Valley Rock Festival,” showing their unchanging music, superior vocals and dynamic rock band aura.

 Check out Deulgukhwa’s teaser below! The rock legends have returned.

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles