EXO Takes Home Daesang for the 23rd Seoul Music Awards + Full List of Winners

EXO just can’t be stopped! EXO has won the Daesang at the 23rd Seoul Music Awards, making it their fifth music awards Daesang this year.

The 23rd Seoul Music Awards were held on January 23 and EXO was the group of the night by taking home the Daesang as well a Bonsang and the Popularity award.

Leader Suho commented, “We’re so happy to receive such a big award after receiving the Rookie award last year. Our youngest members kept saying that they are nervous but I think I am too right now. I think each and every moment of 2013 was like that for EXO.”

EXO has sold a record number of albums last year, with numbers as high as 1.4 million copies. They’re taken home the grand prize at four other music awards such as the Melon Music Awards, MAMAs, Golden Disk Awards and the KBS Music Festival.

Meanwhile, SHINee also took home three different awards on this night including the Hallyu Special Award, Popularity Award and Bonsang. Leader Onew also shed tears during his acceptance speech.

B1A4 took home two awards, a Bonsang and a Popularity Award. They commented, “We will keep trying to make days that are filled with smiles. We will make better music in the future and have better performances as well.”

Veteran singer Cho Yong Pil also took home two awards on this night, giving a thoughtful acceptance speech that cheered on his juniors through video since he was not able to attend on this night.

Other groups who won a Bonsang include B.A.P, A Pink, VIXX, SISTAR, 4minute, Infinite, BEAST and Girls’ Generation. Rookie Awards were given to BTS, Lim Kim and Crayon Pop.

Here is a full list of winners for the 23rd Seoul Music Awards:

Daesang: EXO
Record of the Year in Digital Release: EXO
Record of the Year: Cho Yong Pil
Popularity Award: SHINee, B1A4
Bonsang: B.A.P, A Pink, B1A4, EXO, VIXX, Cho Yong Pil, SISTAR, 4minute, Infinite, BEAST, SHINee, Girls’ Generation
Performance Award: Lee Seung Chul
Hallyu Special Award: SHINee
OST Award: The One
Hip-Hop/Rap Award: Dynamic Duo
R&B/Ballad Award: K.Will
Rookie Award: BTS, Lim Kim, Crayon Pop

Congrats to all!

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles