Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2014 – January Week 4

Once again, the new No. 1 song this week is from outside of the top 10 last week.  Ailee scores her third No. 1 song on our chart with her latest hit “Singing Got Better,” up from No. 18 last week.  Written by her mentor Wheesung, this is a song about a woman who focus herself on singing after a breakup to lessen her heartache, and eventually her singing skills got better.  Despite only winning a minor TV music show in MBC’s Show Champion, “Singing Got Better” was the most consistent song amongst all our sources.  It just edges out Girl’s Day’s “Something” by three points to win this week.  Congratulations to Ailee.

Both the No. 2 and No. 3 songs are titled “Something.”  Girl’s Day’s song is at No. 2 as mentioned.  No. 3 is a new entry into the top 10 by TVXQ, who moves up 12 spots.  This Yoo Young Jin written song is the title track of TVXQ’s seventh album “Tense.”  It is a retro style dance hit reminding us of Las Vegas’ big stage band shows.  The brass arrangement, the trumpet and trombone ad-libs make the song fun to listen to.  “Something” swept the music shows last week but is ranked lower in independent charts.  It settles for No. 3 this week.

One other new song in the top 10 is at No. 7.  Six member female group Dal Shabet have their latest top 10 hit “B.B.B (Big Baby Baby).”  Composed by hitmaker Shinsadong Tiger, this retro style electronic dance song has a catchy title and additive lyrics.  In the song, “Big Baby” refers to a guy who changes heart over time.  This week “B.B.B” moves up 24 big spots to No. 7.

Singles Music Chart - January 2014, Week 4
  • 1 (+17) Singing Got Better
    • Chart Info
    • 18 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (–) Something
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 3 (+12) Something
    • Chart Info
    • 15 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 4 (-3) Wind That Blows
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 5 (-2) Friday (feat. Jang Yi Jung of History)
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 6 (-2) LA SONG
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 7 (+24) Big Baby Baby
    • Chart Info
    • 31 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 7 Peak on chart
  • 8 (-3) You
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 9 (-3) 30 SEXY
    • Chart Info
    • 6 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 6 Peak on chart
  • 10 (-3) Dali, Van, Picasso
    • Chart Info
    • 7 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 5 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (+13) 별처럼 (Like A Star) K.will
12 (-1) 이별남녀 (Break Up Couple) Seo In Guk, Zi-A
13 (new) 없구나 (Lonely) B1A4
14 (–) My Destiny Lyn
15 (-3) Special Love Wheesung, Gummy
16 (-8) 겨울 고백 (Winter Confession) Sung Si Kyung, Park Hyo Shin, Seo In Guk, VIXX, Yeo Dong Saeng
17 (new) Good Morning Baby A Pink
18 (-8) 12월의 기적 (Miracles In December) Exo
19 (-6) 너 밖에 몰라 (One Way Love) Hyorin
20 (+12) 행복하지마 (Don’t Be Happy) Mamamoo, Bumkey
21 (new) 조금 이따 샤워해 (Shower Later (feat. Crush)) Gary
22 (+6) 한번만 (One More Time) Soyu
23 (new) XX몰라 (Zotto Mola) Gary
24 (-8) 너에게만 (Only For You) Bumkey, Verbal Jint
25 (new) 울어본 적 있나요 (Have You Ever Cried) Zi-A
26 (+13) 사랑한 적도 없는 (Coin Laundry) Wax
27 (new) You Make Me Feel Brand New Verbal Jint, San E, Bumkey, Swings, Phantom, Kanto
28 (new) 별에서 온 그대 (My Love From The Stars) Younha
29 (-4) I Do I Do Secret
30 (-10) 그리워해요 (Missing You) 2NE1
31 (new) 짧은 치마 (Miniskirt) AOA
32 (-5) 너에게 (To You) Sung Si Kyung
33 (-11) Hush miss A
34 (+3) 아프다니까 (It Hurts) The One, Punch
35 (-14) 운명 (Destiny) Kim Sung Kyun, Dohee
36 (new) 내 생각날 거야 (You Will Think Of Me (Narr. Lee Si Young)) Gummy
37 (+4) 별일 아니야 (It’s No Nig Deal (feat. P.O of Block B)) Kim Kyung Rok
38 (new) 바람이 분다 (Seen Only You) 4men
39 (-13) 향기만 남아 (Memory Of Your Scent) Huh Gak
40 (new) 행복하기를 (I Love You) 2BiC
41 (-11) 약속 (Promise (with Shin Yong Jae)) Lee Ye Jun
42 (new) 너만 보여 (Seen Only You (feat. Bumkey)) Topbob
43 (-14) 너만을 느끼며 (Feeling Only You) Jung Woo, Yoo Yeon Suk, Son Ho Jun
44 (new) 몹쓸 노래 (Bad Song (feat. Kanto)) Rumble Fish
45 (new) 나이-키 (Age-Height) Song Eun Yi, Song Seung Hyun
46 (-23) 하면 할수록 (More And More) The Seeya, Son Ho Jun
47 (new) Don’t Cry Lee Hyori
48 (new) 별이 되나봐 (Become A Star) Taesabiae
49 (new) Just In Case BMK
50 (new) 널 만나고 싶어 (Without You) 1N1

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and the airplay of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-Pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 20%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 20% 
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core, MNet M!Countdown)  – 45%