Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2014 – February Week 1

After spending the last two weeks at No. 2, Girl’s Day finally scores their first ever No. 1 song on our chart with “Something.”

Girl’s Day has been getting close to the top as their past few hits are all top five songs. This time they finally win, moving past last week’s No. 1 Ailee’s “Singing Got Better.” With the heated competition in K-Pop these days, spending three weeks in the top two is no small accomplishment. “Something” is probably one of the top hit songs so far this year. Congratulations to Girl’s Day.

There are four new songs in the top 10 this week. Just under the top two is B1A4’s latest hit “Lonely.” It is the title song from B1A4’s second full album, “Who Am I.” Unlike many idol dance groups, B1A4 writes their own songs. The track is written by leader Jin Young and composed by Jin Young and Baro. It is about how lonely a person spends his day after a breakup. Having won on SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, and MBC Music Core last week, it is not a surprise that “Lonely” becomes B1A4’s biggest chart hit so far. They will be aiming for our top spot next week.

Moving up 25 spots and scoring their first ever top 10 hit is AOA and their title track “Miniskirt.” Working with hitmakers Brave Brothers and Chakun of Electroboyz for the first time, “Miniskirt” is a hip-hop style dance track with addicting melody. It is a about a woman who warns her boyfriend for not caring for her as much as he used to.

A Pink scores their latest top 10 hit “Good Morning Baby,” despite no promotion on the song. Written by Double Sidekick, “Good Morning Baby” is a cheerful mid tempo dance song about a girl falling in love. This week it moves up nine spots to No. 8.

Gummy returns to the top 10 this week with “You Will Think Of Me.” It features a narration from actress Lee Si Young. Written by veteran songwriters Kim Do Hoon and Choi Gap Won, this is the fourth song coming from The Lyrics Project. The MV of this song was filmed in Japan and featured girl group C-Real and new actor Lee Chang Sup. “You Will Think Of Me” moved up 27 spots to No. 9 this week.

Singles Music Chart - February 2014, Week 1
  • 1 (+1) Something
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (-1) Singing Got Better
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 3 (+10) Lonely
    • Chart Info
    • 13 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 4 (-1) Something
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 5 (-1) Wind That Blows
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 6 (+25) Miniskirt
    • Chart Info
    • 31 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 6 Peak on chart
  • 7 (-2) Friday (feat. Jang Yi Jung of History)
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 8 (+9) Good Morning Baby
    • Chart Info
    • 17 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 8 Peak on chart
  • 9 (+27) You Will Think Of Me (Narr. Lee Si Young)
    • Chart Info
    • 36 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 9 Peak on chart
  • 10 (-4) LA SONG
    • Chart Info
    • 6 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (+16) You Make Me Feel Brand New Verbal Jint, San E, Bumkey, Swings, Phantom, Kanto
12 (-5) B.B.B (Big Baby Baby) Dal Shabet
13 (+12) 울어본 적 있나요 (Have You Ever Cried) Zi-A
14 (+7) 조금 이따 샤워해 (Shower Later (feat. Crush)) Gary
15 (-6) 30 SEXY Rain
16 (-8) 너를 (You) Brown Eyed Soul
17 (-6) 별처럼 (Like A Star) K.will
18 (-4) My Destiny Lyn
19 (new) 살만찌고 (Getting Faster) 4minute
20 (+8) 별에서 온 그대 (My Love From The Stars) Younha
21 (-11) Dali, Van, Picasso Beenzino
22 (+22) 몹쓸 노래 (Bad Song (feat. Kanto)) Rumble Fish
23 (–) XX몰라 (Zotto Mola) Gary
24 (new) 안녕 (Hello) Hyorin
25 (+15) 행복하기를 (I Love You) 2BiC
26 (-11) Special Love Wheesung, Gummy
27 (new) 홍대광 (No Answer) Hong Dae Kwang
28 (-10) 12월의 기적 (Miracles In December) Exo
29 (-17) 이별남녀 (Break Up Couple) Seo In Guk, Zi-A
30 (new) Girls Girls Girls GOT7
31 (new) Maybe (feat. Horan) Free Style
32 (-10) 한번만 (One More Time) Soyu
33 (new) Cha Cha Rainbow Blaxx
34 (new) Tell Me The SeeYa
35 (-5) 그리워해요 (Missing You) 2NE1
36 (-10) 사랑한 적도 없는 (Coin Laundry) Wax
37 (+1) 바람이 분다 (Seen Only You) 4men
38 (-14) 너에게만 (Only For You) Bumkey, Verbal Jint
39 (-7) 너에게 (To You) Sung Si Kyung
40 (new) 아무말도 하지마요 (Don’t Say Anything) Sunny Hill
41 (new) Heaven (feat. Gummy) Kim Jae Joong
42 (-5) 별일 아니야 (It’s No Nig Deal (feat. P.O of Block B)) Kim Kyung Rok
43 (-9) 아프다니까 (It Hurts) The One, Punch
44 (new) 고백 (Confession) Jung Junil
45 (-6) 향기만 남아 (Memory Of Your Scent) Huh Gak
46 (-1) 나이-키 (Age-Height) Song Eun Yi, Song Seung Hyun
47 (-12) 운명 (Destiny) Kim Sung Kyun, Dohee
48 (-5) 너만을 느끼며 (Feeling Only You) Jung Woo, Yoo Yeon Suk, Son Ho Jun
49 (-16) Hush miss A
50 (-34) 겨울 고백 (Winter Confession) Sung Si Kyung, Park Hyo Shin, Seo In Guk, VIXX, Yeo Dong Saeng

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and the airplay of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-Pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 20%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 20% 
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core, MNet M!Countdown) – 45%

How does this article make you feel?