Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2014 – July Week 3

BEAST’s “Good Luck” repeats as No. 1 this week as it holds off AOA’s “Short Hair” again this week.  “Good Luck” recorded wins on SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, and MBC Music Core last week. It also topped our newly added Soompi Airplay source as the BEAST was the hottest trending artist on our last chart period.  Congratulations to BEAST.

Moving up one spot to No. 3 is K.Will’s “Day 1.”  This song prevented “Good Luck” from sweeping all the music shows as it won on Show Champion and M!Countdown. “Day 1” is also within striking distance for taking #1 next week.

There are four new songs in the top 10 this week.  Moving up 13 spots to No. 6 is the first solo hit song from T-Ara’s Hyomin.  Her song “Nice Body” is from her first mini-album “Make Up.”  This Brave Brothers written dance hit with hip-hop beats features up and coming rapper Loco. It is about a woman who wants to look attractive to her guy. Hyomin is the second T-Ara member to hit the top 10 recently as Jiyeon’s “1 Minute 1 Second” was in the top 10 just last month.

Just as IU’s solo hit “Meaning Of You” fell out of the top 10 this week, she has a new song in the top 10 by way of a duet with Ulala Session named “Anxious Heart.”  IU has become a favorite duet partner of many artists.  She already had another top 10 duet hit with HIGH4 “Spring, Love Or Cherry Blossom” earlier this year.  She is also featured on g.o.d‘s latest album. “Anxious Heart” is the fifth single from producer Choi Gap Won’s “The Lyrics” project.  It has a retro 80’s style melody featuring IU’s sweet voice and Ulala Session’s flawless vocal and rapping. This week it moves up seven spots to No. 7.

Moving up 12 spots to No. 8 is Younha’s “Umbrella.”  This song originally appeared on Epik High’s fifth album in 2008 and also featured Younha’s vocal. This time Epik High’s Tablo, who wrote this song, rearranged a solo version for Younha as a gift to commemorate her tenth year in the music industry. This new version also has new melody line and lyrics to fit Younha’s voice.

Debuting at No. 9 as our highest new entry of the week is f(x)’s “Red Light.” This is the title song from f(x)’s third full length album of the same name. It is an electro dance style song with house beat. The lyrics urge listeners to stop and rethink what is important in their lives. “Red Light” swept the music shows this week and perhaps have the best chance to become our new No. 1 song next week.

Singles Music Chart - July 2014, Week 3
  • 1 (–) Good Luck
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (–) Short Hair
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 3 (+1) Day 1
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 4 (-1) Eyes, Nose, Lips
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 6 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 5 (–) A Midsummer Night’s Sweetness
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 6 (+13) Nice Body (with Loco)
    • Chart Info
    • 19 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 19 Peak on chart
  • 7 (+7) Anxious Heart
    • Chart Info
    • 14 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 14 Peak on chart
  • 8 (+12) Umbrella
    • Chart Info
    • 20 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 20 Peak on chart
  • 9 (new) Red Light
    • Chart Info
    • 0 Previous rank
    • 1 Number of week on chart
    • 40 Peak on chart
  • 10 (-1) A
    • Chart Info
    • 9 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 9 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (-5) 너의 의미 (Meaning Of You (feat. Kim Chang Wan)) IU
12 (-1) 중독 (Overdose) Exo-K
13 (-5) Mr.애매모호 (Mr. Ambiguous) Mamamoo
14 (-7) 사람냄새 (Your Scent) Gary, Jung In
15 (-5) 너를 너를 너를 (You You You) Fly To The Sky
16 (new) 우리가 사는 이야기 (The Story Of Our Lives (feat. Megan Lee)) g.o.d
17 (new) 이제 그만 싸우자 (Break Up To Make Up) Huh Gak, Jung Eun Ji
18 (-5) Mr. Chu A Pink
19 (new) I’m In Love Ailee, 2LSON
20 (+5) 고백했는데 (My Confession) Bro
21 (–) TEENAGER Jung Joon Young
22 (-10) 니가 빈 자리 (Your Empty Place) Shin Yong Jae, Lee Hae Ri
23 (+3) 움직이지마 (Don’t Move) Davichi
24 (-2) 사랑했으니..됐어 (I Loved…Have No Regrets) Gummy
25 (+5) ICE BABY Tiny-G
26 (-2) 봄 사랑 벚꽃 말고 (Spring, Love Or Cherry Blossom) HIGH4, IU
27 (-4) 200% Akdong Musician
28 (-13) Summer Time Dynamic Duo
29 (-1) 너를 원해 (Want You (feat. Beenzino)) Junggigo
30 (new) 유후 (Yoo Hoo) Park Ji Yoon
31 (new) 니가 예쁘다 (U Beauty) 100%
32 (-14) Good-night Kiss Hyosung
33 (–) 야생화 (Wild Flower) Park Hyo Shin
34 (new) 밤이 아까워서 (Night Thoughts) Yoo Seung Woo
35 (+3) 그 중에 그대를 만나 (Meet Him Among Them) Lee Sun Hee
36 (+10) Love Satellite Clazziquai
37 (-21) 집이 돼줄게 (Home) Bumkey
38 (+5) 너 사용법 (The Manual) Eddy Kim
39 (-3) TAKE OUT (Feat. Mayson The Soul) Untouchable
40 (-6) 하나 더 (One More) Fiestar
41 (–) Hug Me (feat. Gaeko) Crush
42 (-15) Last Romeo Infinite
43 (-3) 뒤로걷기 (Walking Backwards) 2BiC
44 (new) 캐논의 아침 (Morning Of Canon) Baek Ah Yeon
45 (+3) Give Love Akdong Musician
46 (-15) 반도의흔한랩퍼 (Just Another Rapper (feat. San E & Swings)) Verbal Jint
47 (new) 돌 틈 꽃 (Flower Through The Rock) Ali
48 (-1) 사랑 그 한마디 (Love, That One Word) Taeyeon
49 (new) 역주행 (The Wrong Way (feat. Dok2)) Swings
50 (new) 긴생머리 (Cool Girl (feat. Geeks)) Crybaby

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea as well as the hottest trending artists on Soompi, making it a unique chart that reflects what’s going on in K-Pop not only in Korea but around the world. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 25%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Soompi Airplay – 15% 
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core, MNet M!Countdown)  – 45%

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles