Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2014 – August Week 2

We had a four way battle for the top spot this week: Last week’s champion Girl’s Day’s “Darling” took on a trio of brand new songs: SISTAR’s “Touch My Body,” INFINITE’s “Back,” and Block B’s “HER.” 

It was SISTAR’s “Touch My Body” taking the top spot this week. This song is the title track of SISTAR’s second mini-album, “Touch & Move.” It has an additive melody and lyrics that are easy to sing along. This song won on M!Countdown, Music Bank, and Inkigayo last week. SISTAR has been the one of the top female Kpop groups for the past two years and they will be right up there again this year with another chart topping hit. Congratulations to SISTAR.

“Touch My Body” edged out Girl’s Day’s “Darling,” which drops one spot to No. 2 as female groups occupied the top two spots this week on our chart.

The two new songs by male groups are next. Moving up 16 spots to No. 3 is INFINITE’s “Back.” It is the title track of their repackaged second album. “Back” is a pop song that starts out in slow tempo and moves into a dynamic dance track. The lyrics are about pleading for a lost love to come back. “Back” won on Music Core last week to prevent “Touch My Body” from sweeping all the music shows.

Moving up 14 spots to No. 4 is Block B’s latest hit “HER.” The song has additive guitar rhythm in rock and hip-hop style. The song title has double meaning: in English it refers to a woman, in Korean it indicates a surprise. The lyrics are about a guy who tries to win over a girl.

Singles Music Chart - August 2014, Week 2
  • 1 (+13) Touch My Body
    • Chart Info
    • 14 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (-1) Darling
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 3 (+16) Back
    • Chart Info
    • 19 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 4 (+14) HER
    • Chart Info
    • 18 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 5 (–) Short Hair
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 7 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 6 (-4) Solo Day
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 7 (-1) A Midsummer Night’s Sweetness
    • Chart Info
    • 6 Previous rank
    • 8 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 8 (-4) Red Light
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 9 (-6) Eyes, Nose, Lips
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 9 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 10 (-3) Day 1
    • Chart Info
    • 7 Previous rank
    • 6 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (-3) 이제 그만 싸우자 (Break Up To Make Up) Huh Gak, Jung Eun Ji
12 (–) 명수네 떡볶이 (MyungSoo’s Ddukbokki (feat. Lim Kim, UL)) Park Myung Soo
13 (–) 너의 의미 (Meaning Of You (feat. Kim Chang Wan)) IU
14 (new) 빨개요 (Red) HyunA
15 (-4) Good Luck BEAST
16 (-6) I’m In Love Ailee, 2LSON
17 (new) Back Seat JYJ
18 (-3) 우산 (Umbrella) Younha
19 (+1) 전화번호 (Her Number (feat. Verbal Jint, 40)) Swings
20 (-4) 애타는 마음 (Anxious Heart) Ulala Session, IU
21 (new) Ain’t Nobody HA:TFELT
22 (-13) Fantastic Henry
23 (new) 괜찮아 사랑이야 (It’s Okay, That’s Love) Davichi
24 (-1) 사람냄새 (Your Scent) Gary, Jung In
25 (-1) 최고의 행운 (Best Luck) Chen (EXO-M)
26 (-5) How Do I Look? Beenzino
27 (new) 다시 너를 (Love Again) Son Seung Yeon
28 (-11) AEAO Dynamic Duo, DJ Premier
29 (-3) Mr.애매모호 (Mr. Ambiguous) Mamamoo
30 (-3) It Girl Homme
31 (new) 해요 말고 해 (A Little Close) HIGH4, Lim Kim
32 (new) Hot Baby BESTie
33 (+7) 나나 (Nana (feat. Loco & AOMG)) Jay Park
34 (-3) A GOT7
35 (new) 그 해 여름 (Once In Summer) Sunny Hill
36 (-14) 돌아오는 길 (Finding Myself) Seo In Guk
37 (new) One Summer Night Jokwon, Fei
38 (-5) 얼음땡 (Ice Ice Baby (feat. Beenzino)) Parc Jae Jung
39 (-11) 중독 (Overdose) Exo-K
40 (new) 운명 같은 너 (Destiny Sonata) Jung Dong Ha
41 (-16) Nice Body (with Loco) Hyomin
42 (-8) 너를 너를 너를 (You You You) Fly To The Sky
43 (-11) TEENAGER Jung Joon Young
44 (-14) Darling Eddy Kim
45 (-9) 고백했는데 (My Confession) Bro
46 (-7) Mr. Chu A Pink
47 (-9) 야생화 (Wild Flower) Park Hyo Shin
48 (-11) 기다리라 해요 (Wait) Lim Chang Jung
49 (-20) 우리가 사는 이야기 (The Story Of Our Lives (feat. Megan Lee)) g.o.d
50 (new) 아까워 (Too Good (feat. Minwoo of Boyfriend)) Junggigo

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea as well as the hottest trending artists on Soompi, making it a unique chart that reflects what’s going on in K-Pop not only in Korea but around the world. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 25%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Soompi Airplay – 15% 
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core, MNet M!Countdown) – 45%