Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2014 – October Week 2

TaeTiSeo’s “Holler” held off two strong challengers to remain on top of our chart for the second straight week. “Holler” was No. 1 on M!Countdown and Music Bank last week. Overall, they scored 12 points more than last week to solidify its hold on to the top spot. Congratulations once again to TaeTiSeo.

Moving up 10 spots to No. 2 is Ailee’s latest hit “Don’t Touch Me.” It is the title track of her third mini-album “Magazine.” Written by veteran hitmaker Kim Do Hoon, this is an up-tempo jazz sytle song that features a powerful piano intro and drum beat. Ailee’s flawless vocal portrays a woman betrayed by her man. “Don’t Touch Me” won on Inkigayo last week. It’s only a matter of time before this song hits the top on our chart.

Moving up eight spots to No. 3 is a very special duet between SISTAR’s Soyu and the male members of Urban Zakapa (Kwon Soon Il and Park Yong In). Their song “The Space Between” is a sweet and romantic ballad perfect for the fall season. “The Space Between” is also written by Kim Do Hoon. It is about a couple who wants to show some flaws so they can understand each other better. This is already the fourth time Soyu teams up with an underrated male artist. Her previous hits with Geeks, Mad Clown, and Junggigo were all very successful.

There are two other new songs in the top 10 this week. Moving up seven spots to No. 8 is another duet. It is between NS Yoon-G and rapper Giriboy. Their song “Anticipation Note” is an R&B ballad that combines NS Yoon-G’s attractive vocal and Giriboy’s talented rapping. It is the first top 10 hit for both artists, and should be especially sweet for NS Yoon-G, who debuted four years ago. She usually sings and promotes up-tempo dance hits. But it is this ballad without any promotions that becomes her first top 10 hit.

Moving up 12 spots to No. 10 is R&B duo Vibe’s “Because I Love You.” It is a new song coming from their recently released best album “Memories” that records all their biggest hits. “Because I Love You” is written by Vibe’s Ryu Jae Hyun. It is a truly compelling composition for a loved one. The rich melody and sweet vocals brings a lasting impression.

Singles Music Chart - October 2014, Week 2
  • 1 (–) Holler
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (+10) Don’t Touch Me
    • Chart Info
    • 12 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 3 (+8) The Space Between
    • Chart Info
    • 11 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 4 (-2) Go Crazy?
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 5 (-2) Missing
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 6 (-1) I Swear
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 6 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 7 (-3) Empty
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 8 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 8 (+7) Anticipation Note
    • Chart Info
    • 15 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 8 Peak on chart
  • 9 (-3) Beautiful (feat. Zico of Block B)
    • Chart Info
    • 6 Previous rank
    • 9 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 10 (+12) Because I Love You
    • Chart Info
    • 22 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 10 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (+12) 양화대교 (Yanghwa Bridge) Zion. T
12 (-5) Sugar Free (BigRoom Ver.) T-ara
13 (new) 소격동 (Sogyeokdong) IU
14 (+12) Let’s Not Go Crazy 8Eight
15 (new) How I Am Kim Dong Ryul
16 (-2) Darling Girl’s Day
17 (new) 연애하나 봐 (I Think I’m In Love) Juniel
18 (+12) 쳐다보지마 (Don’t Look At Me Like That) Song Ji Eun (Secret)
19 (-9) HER Block B
20 (-3) 울컥 (All Of A Sudden) Krystal
21 (-2) 눈물나는 내 사랑 (Teardrop Of My Heart) Kim Bum Soo
22 (-4) A Real Man Swings, Ailee
23 (+1) 너무 보고 싶어 (I Miss You So Much) Acoustic Collabo
24 (-3) I Love You Yoon Mi Rae
25 (-17) MAMACITA Super Junior
26 (new) I’ll Remain As A Friend Wheesung, Geeks
27 (-7) 맘마미아 (Mamma Mia) Kara
28 (new) The Day Noel
29 (new) You’re So Fly BTOB
30 (+2) 괜찮아 사랑이야 (It’s Okay, That’s Love) Davichi
31 (-3) Give Your Love? SPICA.S
32 (-3) I’m Fine Thank You Ladies’ Code
33 (new) Still I’m By Your Side Clazziquai
34 (+3) Love Fiction Ulala Session
35 (+6) Body Language (feat. Bumkey) San E
36 (-3) 눈, 코, 입 (Eyes, Nose, Lips) Taeyang
37 (+2) 잠 못드는 밤 (Sleepless Night (feat. Punch)) Crush
38 (-2) 노크 (KNOCK) Nasty Nasty
39 (+4) 최고의 행운 (Best Luck) Chen (EXO-M)
40 (+2) 컬러링 (Color Ring) WINNER
41 (+4) Love Me (feat. Kim Tae Chun) Linus’ Blanket
42 (new) 두 번 죽이는 말 (Words To Kill) Monday Kiz
43 (new) Cha-Ga-Wa F.Cuz
44 (-13) 빨개요 (Red) HyunA
45 (new) 그 한 사람 (That One Person) Lee Seung Hwan
46 (–) Difficult Woman Jang Bum Joon
47 (+1) 자전거 (Bicycle) Gary, Jung In
48 (new) Pitiful (feat. Hip Job) Gavy NJ
49 (-11) Everyone Else But Me Yoo Seung Woo
50 (-37) 가을냄새 (I Smell The Autumn (feat. Eddy Kim)) Verbal Jint

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea as well as the hottest trending artists on Soompi, making it a unique chart that reflects what’s going on in K-Pop not only in Korea but around the world. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 25%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Soompi Airplay – 15%
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core, MNet M!Countdown) – 45%

How does this article make you feel?