Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2015 – August Week 1

Girls’ Generation’s “Party” repeats as No. 1 this week with another easy win. This song topped the Inkigayo chart again last week and still ranked high on all chart sources. As a result, “Party” defeats two new top 10 entries by a healthy margin. Congratulations again to Girls’ Generations.

Moving up 14 spots to No. 2 is INFINITE’s “Bad.” This song is the title track of INFINITE’s fifth mini-album “Reality.” It is a vintage style INFINITE dance hit song with electronic beats. The lyrics are about a man who cannot let go his love even though he knows it is bad and she’ll hurt him. “Bad” won on four music shows last week: Music Core, Music Bank, M!Countdown, and Show Champion. However, it did not score nearly as well as “Party” in other chart sources so it has to settle for No. 2 this week.

Rounding out the top three is another new song. Moving up 12 spots to No. 3 is A Pink’s new song “Remember.” It is the title track of their second full album “Pink Memory.” Working again with Shinsadong Tiger, who wrote most of A Pink’s successful hit songs, “Remember” has upbeat rhythm and lyrical melody. The song starts slowly but the melody picks up and is fast paced in the chorus part.

One more new song in the top 10 and it is at No. 9. Moving up nine spots is Super Junior’s “Devil.” This song is coming from their 10th Anniversary Special Album of the same name. “Devil” is jointly written by Kenzie and Stereotypes, who works with Justin Bieber and Chris Brown. It has trendy dance melodies. The lyrics are about the honest confession of a man falling in love with vicious tendencies of the “Devil” expression.

Singles Music Chart - August 2015, Week 1
  • 1 (–) Party
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (+14) Bad
    • Chart Info
    • 16 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 16 Peak on chart
  • 3 (+12) Remember
    • Chart Info
    • 15 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 15 Peak on chart
  • 4 (-2) Ring My Bell
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 5 (+2) Sober
    • Chart Info
    • 7 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 6 (+2) Um Oh Ah Yeah
    • Chart Info
    • 8 Previous rank
    • 6 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 7 (+2) Comes And Goes
    • Chart Info
    • 9 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 9 Peak on chart
  • 8 (-3) If You
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 5 Peak on chart
  • 9 (+9) Devil
    • Chart Info
    • 18 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 18 Peak on chart
  • 10 (-6) Heart Attack
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (-8) Shake It Sistar
12 (+9) 딱 좋아 (Just Right) GOT7
13 (-7) 괜찮아요 (It’s Okay) BTOB
14 (+9) 주마등 (Kaleidoscope (feat. MI-WOO)) Leessang
15 (+4) 꺼내 먹어요 (Eat) Zion. T
16 (-5) Love Me Right Exo
17 (-7) 이럴거면 그러지말지 (Shouldn’t Have (feat. Younghyun)) Baek Ah Yeon
18 (+22) 초코칩쿠키 (Choco Chip Cookies (feat. Giriboy)) Goo Hara
19 (-5) 다쳐 (Hurt Locker) Nine Muses
20 (-8) 마음 (Heart) IU
21 (new) 오늘부터 우리는 (Me gustas tu) GFRIEND
22 (-9) Oasis (Feat. Zico) Crush
23 (-6) View SHINee
24 (+9) 어머님이 누구니 (Who’s Your Mama (feat. Jessi)) Park Jin Young
25 (+3) My Last (feat. Loco, Gray) Jay Park
26 (new) 아끼지마 (Don’t Be Shy (feat. AOA’s ChoA, Iron)) Primary
27 (new) 한여름 밤의 고백 (Confession In Summer) Cool
28 (+3) Because Of You MC The Max
29 (-4) 아프다 (Sick) Zico, Sojin
30 (+8) 바다 (Ocean (feat. Cool’s Kim Sung Soo, with Faith Rookies)) Baek Chung Kang
31 (+1) 사랑의 시작은 고백에서부터 (Love Begins With A Confession) Kim Bum Soo
32 (+5) Respect (Feat. Gray & DJ Pumkin) Loco
33 (new) 심상치 않아 (You & Me (feat. Joo Young)) Kisum
34 (+5) 아낀다 (Adore U) SEVENTEEN
35 (+1) Me You (feat. Baek Yerin) San E
36 (new) 요즘젊은것들 (We Young (feat. Microdot)) Dick Punks
37 (-10) 아예 (Ah Yeah) EXID
38 (-14) 그리고 안녕 (And Goodbye) Lee Seung Gi
39 (-10) 우리가 사랑한 시간 (The Time I Loved You) Kyuhyun
40 (+3) 여름이잖아요 (It’s Summer) 2BiC
41 (-15) You From The Same Time Naul
42 (new) 너를 사랑한 시간 (The Time I Loved You) Jung Seung Hwan
43 (+3) 다른 남자 말고 너 (Only You) miss A
44 (new) 쫄깃쫄깃 (Chewy) D. Holic
45 (-4) 동네술집 (Town Bar) Huh Gak, Jung In
46 (-4) 느껴 (My Everything) Bumkey
47 (-2) 두사랑 (Two Lovers (feat. Mad Clown)) Davichi
48 (new) 그리운 노래 아리요 (Nostalgic Song Ariyo) Kim Yeon Woo
49 (new) 살살해 (Go Easy) POTEN
50 (new) 연애는 하니..? (Do You Love Somebody?) Hwayobi

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea as well as the hottest trending artists on Soompi, making it a unique chart that reflects what’s going on in K-Pop not only in Korea but around the world. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 20%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Soompi Airplay – 20%
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core, MNet M!Countdown) – 45%

How does this article make you feel?