Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2016 - January Week 1

Happy New Year!  This is the first music chart of 2016. There are some changes on the chart scoring. MBC’s Music Core is no longer having a music chart, so we adjust the total TV Network ranking from 45% to 40%, while GAON chart increases from 20% to 25%. At some point this year, we are going to implement a fan vote on the songs from our weekly chart. When that potion is implemented, we shall adjust the composition of the other sources accordingly.

Two male artists dominated our chart this week: PSY and EXO each have two songs on the chart and they occupy the top four spots. It is the first time this happens on our chart.

PSY retains the top spot carrying over from the last chart of 2015. However, this time it is “Daddy” winning the No. 1 spot, moving up a spot while “Napal Baji” went down to No. 3. “Daddy” had won on Inkigayo for the last three weeks and was also the top song on M!Countdown last week.

There are four new songs in the top 10. EXO has the No. 2 and No. 4 spot. Moving up 10 spots to No. 2 is “Sing For You.” This is one of the title tracks from EXO’s 2015 Winter Special Album. It is a sweet winter ballad about expressing your feeling towards the loved ones for the holiday season. “Sing For You” won on Music Bank last week, and EXO topped our Soompi Airplay with all the momentum they were getting from the year end award coverage. Let see if they can dethrone Psy for the top spot next week.

EXO’s other title track “Unfair” moves up 16 spots to No. 4. It is a mid-tempo pop dance song with a trendy melody. EXO has great vocal harmony on this song. Listeners can feel through the lyrics which express feelings for one’s love.

Debuting at No. 8 is Yoon Mi Rae’s latest hit “This Love.” Yoon Mi Rae usually releases hard core hip-hop tracks or listener friendly R&B ballads. This song is of the latter type. It is a vintage emotional winter ballad. Listeners can feel the emptiness of this song through Yoon Mi Rae’s distinctive husky voice. Yoon Mi Rae’s husband Tiger JK helped penning the lyrics. It is a story about how much it hurts after a breakup.

Moving up seven spots to No. 9 is Zico’s “Eureka.” It is one of the title tracks coming from his first solo mini-album “Gallery.” Prior to this mini-album’s release, Zico has pre-released two singles “Say It! Yes Or No,” and “Boys And Girls,” the latter was a top 10 hit. “Eureka” features the red hot Zion. T, who not only has his own hits but are helping many other artists. It is a powerful hip-hop track that will captivate your ears.

Singles Music Chart - January 2016, Week 1
  • 1 (+1) DADDY (Feat. CL of 2NE1)
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (+10) Sing For You
    • Chart Info
    • 12 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 3 (-2) Napal Baji
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 4 (+16) Unfair
    • Chart Info
    • 20 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 5 (-1) HOT PINK
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 6 (–) Like OOH-AHH
    • Chart Info
    • 6 Previous rank
    • 9 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 7 (-4) RUN
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 8 (new) This Love
    • Chart Info
    • 0 Previous rank
    • 1 Number of week on chart
    • 8 Peak on chart
  • 9 (+7) Eureka (feat. Zion. T)
    • Chart Info
    • 16 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 9 Peak on chart
  • 10 (-5) Dear Santa
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 5 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (new) 화이트 (White (feat. Jay Park)) Davichi
12 (-3) 또 다시 사랑 (Love Again) Lim Chang Jung
13 (-5) 우주를 건너 (Across The Universe) Baek Yerin
14 (new) 덤앤더머 (Dumb & Dumber) iKON
15 (new) 왜 또 (What’s Wrong) iKON
16 (+2) 북두칠성 (The Great Dipper) Roy Kim
17 (-10) 못먹는 감 (Sour Grapes) San E, Mad Clown
18 (+7) 소녀 (A Little Girl) Oh Hyuk
19 (new) 다시 (Again) Turbo
20 (+4) 밤의 멜로디 (Melody Of The Night) Brown Eyed Soul
21 (+7) 혜화동 (The Zoo) Park Bo Ram
22 (new) 함께 (Together) Noel
23 (-10) 오늘부터 우리는 (Me gustas tu) GFRIEND
24 (+3) 걱정말아요 그대 (Don’t Worry) Lee Juck
25 (-14) I (feat. Verbal Jint) Taeyeon
26 (-16) 아이유 (Twenty-Three) IU
27 (+7) 그대에게 (For You) Lovelyz
28 (+4) 청춘 (Youth) Kim Feel
29 (-6) 웃픈 하루 (A Funny But Sad Day) g.o.d
30 (+1) 네게 줄 수 있는건 오직 사랑뿐 (There Is Nothing But Give All My Love To You) December
31 (new) 매일 그대와 (Everyday With You) Sojin (Girl’s Day)
32 (new) 숨바꼭질 (Hide And Seek) Turbo
33 (-11) No Make Up Zion. T
34 (new) Love Line Hyorin, Bumkey, Jooyoung
35 (new) 불꽃 (Flame) ChoA
36 (+14) 바람이나 좀 쐐 (Get Some Air (feat. MIWOO)) Gary
37 (new) 열두 시가 되면 (Let’s Meet When It Turns Twelve) Ga In
38 (-21) 4 Walls f(x)
39 (new) 보라빛향기 (Violet Fragrance) Wable
40 (-10) HOME Brown Eyed Soul
41 (-5) 안아보자 (Hug Me) 4men
42 (new) 시리다 (Cold) K.Will
43 (new) Do It For Fun San E
44 (-9) Hello Bitches CL
45 (-3) 가질 수 없는 너 (Can’t Have You) Gummy
46 (-5) 몸 좀 녹이자 (Heat It Up) San E, Verbal Jint, Bumkey, Hanhae, Kanto, Kang Min Hee, Yang Da Il, Candle
47 (new) Heaven Jo Kwon
48 (–) 아마도 그건 (Perhaps That) Crush, Loco
49 (-30) 꿀잼 (Jam) Dynamic Duo
50 (-5) 오늘은 (Don’t Worry Music) Solji, Yoo Jae Hwan, Jung Hyung Don

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea as well as the hottest trending artists on Soompi, making it a unique chart that reflects what’s going on in K-Pop not only in Korea but around the world. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 25%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Soompi Airplay – 20%
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MNet M!Countdown, MBC PLUS Show Champion) – 40%

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles