“Dongju” And “Descendants of the Sun” Take Home Grand Prizes At The 52nd Baeksang Arts Awards + Full List Of Winners

The 52nd Baeksang Awards, which celebrates excellence in both film and television, was held on June 3. Following the red carpet, actors, entertainers, directors, and screenwriters attended this prestigious ceremony, with many of them taking home well-deserved awards. Shin Dong Yup and miss A’s Suzy were the MCs for this night.

The grand award in film was awarded to director Lee Joon Ik for his 2015 production, “Dongju: The Portrait of a Poet,” while the much loved drama of 2016, “Descendants of the Sun,” took home the grand award in the television category.

Other notable winners include Lee Byung Hun and Jeon Do Yeon for Best Actor and Actress in film, while Yoo Ah In and Kim Hye Soo were awarded the same honor for television. Also, indicative of the amount of love they’ve received so far, EXO’s D.O., miss A’s Suzy, Song Joong Ki, and Song Hye Kyo all took home the Popularity Award for their respective productions.

The complete list of winners is as following:

Movie Categories:

Grand Award – Director Lee Joon Ik for “Dongju: The Portrait of a Poet” and for “Sado” (also known as “The Throne”)
Best Film – “Assassination
Best Director – Ryu Seung Wan for “Veteran”
Best Actor – Lee Byung Hun for “Inside Men”
Best Actress – Jeon Do Yeon for “The Shameless”
Best Supporting Actor – Lee Kyung Young for “Minority Opinion” (also known as “The Unfair”)
Best Supporting Actress – Ra Mi Ran for “The Himalayas”
Best New Actor – Park Jung Min for “Dongju: The Portrait of a Poet”
Best New Actress – Park So Dam for “The Priests”
Best New Director – Han Jun Hwi for “Coin Locker Girl” (also known as “Chinatown”)
Best Screenplay – Ahn Gook Jin for “Alice in Earnestland”
Male Popularity Award – EXO’s D.O. for “Pure Love”
Female Popularity Award – miss A’s Suzy for “The Sound of a Flower”

Television Categories:

Grand Award – “Descendants of the Sun”
Best TV Drama – “Signal
Best Entertainment Program – “King of Mask Singer
Best Educational/Cultural Show – “Test”
Best Director – Shin Won Ho for “Reply 1988
Best Actor – Yoo Ah In for “Six Flying Dragons
Best Actress – Kim Hye Soo for “Signal
Best New Actor – Ryu Jun Yeol for “Reply 1988”
Best New Actress – Kim Go Eun for “Cheese in the Trap
Best Variety Star (Male) – Kim Gura for “My Little Television”
Best Variety Star (Female) – Kim Sook for “With You: The Greatest Love”
Best Screenplay – Kim Eun Hui for “Signal”
Male Popularity Award – Song Joong Ki
Female Popularity Award – Song Hye Kyo
Male Global Star Award – Song Joong Ki
Female Global Star Award – Song Hye Kyo

Other Awards:
InStyle’s Best Style Award – Park Bo Gum and miss A’s Suzy

Congratulations to everyone! Were you surprised by any of the winners?

*An earlier version of this article left out that director Lee Joon Ik won Grand Prize due to both “Dongju: The Portrait of a Poet” and “Sado.”

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?